Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good starter recipe! I used 1/2 cup less water as suggested by some, put half the cornmeal in 1 cup cold water-brought remaining water to a boil, (to which I added a sprig of fresh rosemary and a little salt)-then stirred in the cold mixture. It cooked very quickly. Then folded in about a tablespoon cream cheese and 1/4 cup shredded cheddar-rolled it up in plastic wrap to be sliced later. Served hot medallions with red Italian meat sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I agree with others who pointed out that this recipe could confuse someona who may not know that the ingredients are water & cornmeal however what surprized me was that there were so many rather compex methods for adding the cornmeal. I have found that the best way to incorporate the cornmael is to use a wire balloon whisk. The trick seems to be the water, it must be at a full boil then just pour the dry cornmeal in a steady stream while whisking it...In two minutes it is ready. ...I have never tried quick cornmeal the regular inexpensive stuff form my grocery store works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Polenta...Golden Pheasant has a brand of corn meal called Polenta. Yes it's the finished product's name but it is also the name for the type of corn meal used. Regular corn meal is less coarsely ground! I am in a Itailian family from Italy. In making polenta from the "real" corn meal" it takes quite awhile and some arm muscle to get the job done! This is great sliced thin once set and grilled with cheese added after removed from heat or add herbs & cheese before it sets up. Chicken in a red sauce over this is delicious as well as many other dishes (sausage and onions grilled) or just get creative. Jazz it up! You can also serve before it sets and it is softer in texture. Chow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Polenta and stew is my favorite family dish. My grandma always buys Italian Harvest polenta and I buy what I can find. Many grocery stores sell "polenta" in boxes and in bags. But yes you can buy corn meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The flavor was was rather bland. Next time I will try adding salt or some type of flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Good starter recipe. You can always tweak it to your personal preferences. I like a denser polenta, so I used a bit less water. Unfortunately, it turns out my husband doesn't care for polenta, so I'll probably not be making it again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
this is a great recipe...in defense of the original recipe...polenta can be used to describe the grain as well as the dish. i personally do not like 'polenta' made from the stuff in the blue and orange box at the store called 'cornmeal'. my mom grew up in a very italian home where polenta as they knew it was made with a very coarsely ground cornmeal. my understanding is that polenta is simply the italian word for cornmeal. if there's any way you can get very coarsely ground cornmeal...it's much more authentic as far as what the northern italians centuries ago used to eat and i think it has much more flavor than the finely ground kind. we've tried grinding corn in our large grinder (that we use for wheat) - and even the coarsest setting is significantly finer than the polenta we buy in bulk through the health food store. *Shrug* anyway...good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I don't know what type of groceries that some shop in, but there is "Polenta" in italian food stores. This is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Great basic recipe. I used slightly less water than called for (which allows the cornmeal to thicken MUCH quicker-- approx. five minutes). I also added about 1/2 tsp. salt to the water. After thickening, I stirred in some chopped green olives, sun-dried tomatoes, and shredded parmesan cheese. I then sprayed a wax-paper lined cutting board with PAM, spread the mixture out, and let it cool. After 20 minutes or so, I hand-packed the whole thing into a log shape and sliced it into medallions. Then I pan-fried the medallions in olive oil. They were soooooo yummy, kind of like polenta "fritters" I guess. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Simple and works. Keep stirring to keep the bottom from burning. You could also add a pinch of salt, much like you would to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States