Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is the basic way to prepare polenta, which is cooked corn meal, I felt like giving it less stars b/c I was annoyed this recipe doesn't mention that. I pictured people walking through the store searching for polenta to add to the water...anyway, 3 parts water, one part cornmeal, and you have polenta. It take minutes to make before it thickens so don't be surprised based on the instructions. I like to chill mine a few hours then cut and grill it and top it with pasta sauce, grilled veggies and parm. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The instructions are not very clear and may confuse some people..."Polenta" is the finished meal..."Corn Meal" is the ingredient that is needed to make POLENTA., also I use 2 cups of cold water to 1 cup of cornmeal for a thicker polenta. To diminish any concerns of lumps, just add some corn meal to cold water, stir then add it to the boiling water and stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I've made polenta all my life and have never had it take that long to cook -- usually only a few minutes before it thickens up. It helps eliminate lumps if you mix your cornmeal to a cup of cold water, then add that to boiling water. Great with pesto, tomato and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I love polenta! The only difference is my great aunt uses 2 cups cold water to every 1 cup cornmeal. It makes a very firm polenta. This is the way I prefer it since I grew up with it this way. She only serves it with a red (tomato based) gravy but it is also good as a side dish to pot roast with beef gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Hey! It works! Cool! I added chopped sun-dried tomatoes, a little of their oil, let it cool on plastic wrap, rolled it, tossed it in the fridge for a while then sliced it, fried it and used it with the morrocan chicken recipe from this site. Next time, I'll try parm & basil and put a nice red sauce over it. Thanks so much, this has added a nice starch to my side dish recipes and staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
I really enjoyed the home-made polenta I made with this recipe! I cut it into chunks about 2" by 2" and simmered it in homemade marinara for a few minutes, and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
THE classic Italian comfort food, IMHO. And unlike other starches that one can dress up like pasta or rice, polenta does NOT suck most of the flavor out of the sauce you add do it. I would even go so far as to say it enhances it. Asf for finding something called 'Polenta' in the store, some have said no such thing exists, rather it is Corn Meal you seek..Well, this is only half true. Italian Delicatessens and probably some upscale markets do sell a product called 'Polenta' which is considerably more coarse than ordinary Corn Meal. Corn grits are closer to Polenta than corn meal is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I agree with italiangirl that this needs less water - you just need to cut the heat when you put in the cornmeal. I took it a step further and put in about an eighth cup chopped up sundried tomato and about 3 TBSP prepared jar pesto. (I got the cheap stuff for $2.00 at Wally World). Some people may need salt, but it tasted just fine. Turned it our into an 8x8 pan to cool so it would have some shape. I was trying to come up with a way to make it into a tube (cylinder), similar to what is sold in the store, but nothing really fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Very easy, but I only had to cook it for about 5 minutes until it was THICK. I used Quaker Yellow Cornmeal (Enriched and Degerminated)- I wonder if this is "quick cooking" polenta? Either way, it turned out good- I'm excited to fry some tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOCCERPLAYR9999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Simple, yet very tasty. Using a gas cooktop, one needs only 15 minutes of stirring for the desired consistency. Thank you for the recipe , it added to our Thanksgiving feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States