Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was delicious! After it was cooked and cooled I sliced it into servings and pan fried it then spooned fresh tomato sauce over and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious and really was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbilleck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The first time I've made polenta...this worked out well. It just took me about 15 minutes. I did add salt to the cooking water. Pouring out on the wooden board to cool for awhile firmed it up nicely. I served my chicken cacciatore (with chicken in small pieces) over it and we all thought this was a wonderful combination. I'm already looking for my next polenta recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
polenta is yummy! i love it! add a bit of honey for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
THE classic Italian comfort food, IMHO. And unlike other starches that one can dress up like pasta or rice, polenta does NOT suck most of the flavor out of the sauce you add do it. I would even go so far as to say it enhances it. Asf for finding something called 'Polenta' in the store, some have said no such thing exists, rather it is Corn Meal you seek..Well, this is only half true. Italian Delicatessens and probably some upscale markets do sell a product called 'Polenta' which is considerably more coarse than ordinary Corn Meal. Corn grits are closer to Polenta than corn meal is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I was excited to try this, but mine never did firm up. Next time I make it I will reduce the water to two cups. I was in a hurry when I made this- I wish I'd taken time to read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Polenta flour is an actual ingredient and I am sure this is what the cook intended on the recipe card. Corn meal is a substitute for polenta flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m1illion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Ok you got three stars because polenta is NASTY made with just water IMHO. however, using chicken or beef stock * or boullion* makes it better. you can even use vegetable stock. play with the recipe a little bit and you have the outer layer of your tamales. to answer the question about how to it cylindrical, use a clean empty coffee can * a small one*. grease the inside, add the prepared polenta, let it cool, use a can opener to cut off the bottom and push it out and slice it. my family always fried it in a little bacon grease. my dad would add shredded pork to it while it was cooking and then slice and fry it. hope this helps you out. another thing to get rounds, pour it out on a shallow cookie sheet, let it cool then cut it with a cookie cutter. just remember to grease the pan so it comes out easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
fantastic base recipe - you can use any combination of stuff to dress it up! mine cooked in much less time though - more like 5 mins then 15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very easy to prepare, mine is usually done in around 20 minutes. Tastes great after chilled overnight, this is a great starter. Do not use masa! The flavor will be completely off. Course cornmeal is the way to go, or if you prefer regular will work and seems lower in calories. If you buy cornmeal that says "polenta" it will cost extra just for these words to be printed on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States