Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Basic Polenta..it's good. When I make mine I use all chicken broth or a mixture of chicken broth and water then add very crisp fried bacon and sharp cheddar cheese. I refrigerate the leftovers and make patties out of them in the morning and fry them up for breakfast. DEEEE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Polenta is soooooo good! Use to buy it in the store (because I didn't know any better) now make my own cheap and great with most anything, but I like it fried with maple syrup for breakfast, NOTE: I add 1/2 teaspoon of salt to kick it up a bit, but you can make so it tastes best to you. Regards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is amazing ... I was raised on Polenta and didn't even know it!! Being from Swiss and German grandparents, polenta wasn't a staple for us. But my dad used to make "cornmeal mush" on the rare occasion that my mom would let him in her kitchen (the messes he made!). He'd then put it in a buttered bread loaf pan and into the fridge overnite. The next morning, he'd cut it into 1" slices, fry it in butter until the edges crisped, and we'd eat it with breakfast sausages and maple syrup. Yum!! I've made it several times for my husband over the past 30 years ... and he loves it too. So now that I'm expanding my foodie horizons, I just looked up the recipes for Polenta, and Voila!! Thanks, Dad, for introducing me to my very first Italian comfort food ... even though neither of us realized it!! (If serving it with butter and maple syrup wasn't part of your childhood, TRY IT ... you may love it!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boisbrule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brule, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very easy, just what I was looking for. I added a bit of soup flavor to it for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Polenta is easier to make thana glass of chocolate milk! Making a marinara sauce took some time, however this meal got A+ reviews from my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
"20-50 minutes"?!?! Once the water was boiling, it took about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
So quick and easy!! This was my first time eating, let alone making, polenta so I didn't know what to expect. Super easy to do and the add-ins are endless! I just made it plain this time, but fresh rosemary, basil, thyme, sundried tomatoes, or roasted red peppers would be great additions. I put plastic wrap in a small cake pan and poured it in there to set. Chilled it overnight and then used to make Angie's Polenta Lasagna from this site. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I bought a bag of polenta, yes, that's how it was labeled, and saw immediately that it was nothing but cornmeal. If you want other recipes, look up cornmeal mush because that's all polenta is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made this today and it was really easy. A big thanks to those reviewers who pointed out that you make it with corn meal. I added 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary and 1/4 teaspoon salt when I was cooking it. Then I let it cool, cut it into wedges, lightly pan fried it, and served it with a home made tomato sauce and cheese. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was delicious! After it was cooked and cooled I sliced it into servings and pan fried it then spooned fresh tomato sauce over and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States