Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very very tasty veggie, meat and sauce mix. I used spicy turkey italian sausage and egg[plant because it was what I had handy. I made homemade polenta with a a recipe off the back of the stone ground cornmeal bag. The polenta itself is very plain, but absorbs the sauce and is pretty tasty for what it is. I got the "go ahead and make this again" from my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was awesome as it was. I hate it when other people alter it in reviews (not fair if it's a different recipe) but I will say this so no one makes the same mistake I did: make sure your sauce has garlic in it, otherwise it won't be just right. Not sure how I managed to buy the only kind without it but.... If you do this, this recipe rocks as it is and will be made again and again in our house. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj_sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Love this! I double the recipe to make a large cassarole dish for the holidays. I layer polenta, then parmasan, then sausage sauce, then mozzarella. Then again, parm., sauce, and mozz. and bake at 375F for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Yummy! Even my hubby, who isn't a fan of polenta, raved about it several hours later. I couldn't find tubed polenta, so I used instant from a box, then spread it on a cookie sheet and baked it. After baking, I cut it into rounds and broiled it with havarti on top before adding the veggie mixture. (you need to add your own seasoning to the mix). I'll be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this with turkey sausage, so I added a little crushed red pepper. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Man, was this delicious! I used spicy turkey sausage, an orange pepper, and larger quantities of all the vegetables than it called for, but I don't think any of those changes substantially affected the dish. While I don't think the polenta added much to the dish, the sauce was wonderful and would be delicious over pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was great!! I used homemade sauce and veggie crumbles instead of sausage but otherwise followed the directions exactly. We'll definitely be making this one a lot. The veggies came out perfectly after 7 minutes on the stove. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is now a go-to recipe for me for quick dinners. I used veggie crumbles because I'm vegetarian and made my own creamy polenta (from this site) and didn't bake it. Yes, I know it's not exactly the same, but this recipe was great inspiration! Makes me wonder why I haven't been making polenta all my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I didnt care for the texture. The taste was ok the first couple bites but then it became kinda blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was delicious! My whole family enjoyed this dish. The next time I make it, however, I will make more polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States