Polenta with Rosemary and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I grew up in an Italian family and polenta was common. I must confess, however, that I was always disappointed when Mom or Grandma served it because I hated it. (An understatement, for sure) I'm thinking if I had grown up with polenta THIS way I would have had a whole different attitude about it. Even more startling, Hubs hates polenta and he hates Parmesan cheese. I made him eat this anyway - he said I could make this anytime, and exactly as I made it tonight. The combination of water, milk and chicken broth? Excellent. (For the record, I like my polenta creamy, so I skipped the step of baking it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is good, but next time I think I will add more cornmeal. I like polenta a little drier. Since that is my personal preference I can't fault the recipe! I like the idea of the garlic and Parmesan cheese in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I love grits and polenta. This is a fantastic recipe! So easy and so yummy. The garlic and parmesan are wonderful additions. I used 3/4 tsp dried rosemary, and although I do like rosemary, it was still a bit too perfumey, next time I"ll try a little less or as previously suggested, omit all together. I bet this would be good sliced and fried in some butter the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
One of my favorite recipes to make. I usually triple the recipe and make one for me, mom and sis.. No wheat for them so this recipe is perfect.. I make exactly as given except I leave it in the oven about 30 minutes more.. then I can cut slices like a cake when it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Based on other posts here I omitted the rosemary. Instead, I used 1/2 tsp of Italian Seaoning. Wonderful flavor, easy recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is fabulous, the only thing that I changed was I swapped basil for the rosemary just because we don't like rosemary. The first night this was creamy, soft and delicious. I was originally looking for a firmer, sliceable polenta and after having this in the fridge overnight that is exactly what it was. Today for lunch I was able to slice it into wedges. Wonderful both ways! I will make this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is great with the garlic, I nix'd the rosemary, added cumin and a touch of smoked paprika while on the stovetop, then tucked shallots into the casserole polenta while baking in the oven. I also drizzled a rich olive oil beneath and over the polenta in the casserole dish. I'm shooting for a spoonable polenta, so baking for 30 minutes wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I'm still learning!!! I subbed milk for coconut milk too. Less dairy = better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I didn't have any chicken stock on hand but had a chicken and tomato bullion cube on hand that I decided to try instead. The polenta tasted so good that I actually decided not to add the parm and it didn't need any additional salt or pepper either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Thought this was delicious. Served it under a short ribs recipe and the presentation was magnifique, haha! I left out the rosemary and added a little more parmesan and it was a big hit. Loved that the last 30 minutes were in the oven so many polenta recipes seem to be stove top, serve immediately. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
WOW! No more frozen Trader Joe's polenta for me! This was fantastic! I would like to play around with flavor combos in the future (maybe basil instead of rosemary, or chopped spinach..) but at the same time don't want to mess with the perfection of this recipe :p Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States