Polenta and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a really neat dish. I really enjoyed it, and so did my husband who is a bit nervous about polenta (especially in the tube :) I did make some variations and changes. I added half a chopped red pepper and red onion for color. I used two zuchinni because I didn't have eggplant. I also used taco mix because I didn't have fajita. I didn't use the whole packet (to cut down on sodium). I also didn't put the salsa or olives on the casserole. I think the salsa could make it a bit watery, so I decided not to. Also, I sprinkled oregano, pepper and garlic powder over the polento circles before adding the bean mixture. I also think that you could cut down on the amount of beans (personal preference) as it seemed to overwhelm the vegetable mixture at times. I used 1 can of kidney beans and half a can each of garbonzo and cannellini beans.I also used a fiesta blend of cheese isntead of the mozzarella. I served the casserole with salsa, olives and sour cream. The flavor was great. Will make again! Thanks Karen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I haven't made this as a casserole yet, but threw black beans, polenta, corn, and a cooked salsa in a pan with some cheddar and garlic for a tasty meal. I'll definitely be making this as a casserole, but will use a can of green chiles and can of drained diced tomatoes instead of the salsa. It would also be good with crumbled burger or seasoned tofu to add some extra protein. Easy, quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was pretty good - not the best recipe ever, but made a good, hearty meal. I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh and only half of the fajita seasoning-which was very salty. Also, I left out the salsa because I dislike the flavor of bottled salsa in cooked recipes - overpowers the vegetables. Would be good with salsa and sour cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Certainly a keeper...I made this with very few changes. I omitted the kidney beans (did not have any); only used 3/4 pack of fajita seasoning and served the salsa on the side w/sour cream & guacamole. It could use something to hold the beans/corn together (serve with caution..LOL)...but NO ONE slowed down on eating it. Very tasty....try with Mexican Rice II, Sweet Corn Tomalito, Best Guacamole & of course some Margaritas! :) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was delicious! I made my own seasoning mix instead of fajita seasoning. Also used yellow squash instead of eggplant since it's what I had. Nice and healthy, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was too layered - there was nothing to really hold it all together. I think it would be better with the beans, corn and salsa mixed with the sauteed veggies before topping the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good easy recipe. Like other reviewers, I kept the salsa out to keep the dish from being too watery and served it on the side. I added green chile peppers as well. Filling and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was very tasty. I did make a few alterations but stuck to the spirit of the recipe.I left out the beans and instead added some roasted zucchini. I also roasted the eggplant. I also left off the salsa and used a very light dusting of a cheese blend. It was quite good, very healthy and reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Good! need to squish polenta onto bottom better, perhaps add an egg to set it/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
very good dinner, and enough to feed a large family for 2 full meals! i was very impressed with the combo of the eggplant, onion, mushrooms and seasoning, and would definitely use that part in other recipes. i did also cut back to 1/2 packet, and used taco seasoning instead. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States