Polenta and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was pretty good - not the best recipe ever, but made a good, hearty meal. I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh and only half of the fajita seasoning-which was very salty. Also, I left out the salsa because I dislike the flavor of bottled salsa in cooked recipes - overpowers the vegetables. Would be good with salsa and sour cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a quick and healthy meal that has great flavor. I didn't have eggplant or green peppers on hand so I left them out and didn't miss them. I also used cheddar instead of mozzarella and used less than the suggested amount. My only complaint is that alot of liquid pooled at the bottom of the pan (I think I can attribute it to the salsa). All in all...very nice recipe to try and I will probably make again with some slight changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was really good. I followed the advice of making my own salsa instead of using bottled. Delicious! Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was a really neat dish. I really enjoyed it, and so did my husband who is a bit nervous about polenta (especially in the tube :) I did make some variations and changes. I added half a chopped red pepper and red onion for color. I used two zuchinni because I didn't have eggplant. I also used taco mix because I didn't have fajita. I didn't use the whole packet (to cut down on sodium). I also didn't put the salsa or olives on the casserole. I think the salsa could make it a bit watery, so I decided not to. Also, I sprinkled oregano, pepper and garlic powder over the polento circles before adding the bean mixture. I also think that you could cut down on the amount of beans (personal preference) as it seemed to overwhelm the vegetable mixture at times. I used 1 can of kidney beans and half a can each of garbonzo and cannellini beans.I also used a fiesta blend of cheese isntead of the mozzarella. I served the casserole with salsa, olives and sour cream. The flavor was great. Will make again! Thanks Karen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I haven't made this as a casserole yet, but threw black beans, polenta, corn, and a cooked salsa in a pan with some cheddar and garlic for a tasty meal. I'll definitely be making this as a casserole, but will use a can of green chiles and can of drained diced tomatoes instead of the salsa. It would also be good with crumbled burger or seasoned tofu to add some extra protein. Easy, quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
usually I change something in a recipe, but this one is great the way it is. My husband loved it. Its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good easy recipe. Like other reviewers, I kept the salsa out to keep the dish from being too watery and served it on the side. I added green chile peppers as well. Filling and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
very good dinner, and enough to feed a large family for 2 full meals! i was very impressed with the combo of the eggplant, onion, mushrooms and seasoning, and would definitely use that part in other recipes. i did also cut back to 1/2 packet, and used taco seasoning instead. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Along with others, I also used half packet of seasoning. Since we like polenta, we may add more next time, putting another layer in the middle. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was delicious! I made my own seasoning mix instead of fajita seasoning. Also used yellow squash instead of eggplant since it's what I had. Nice and healthy, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States