Polenta and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I saw polenta in the grocery store for the first time and looked for a recipe to use it in, and came across this. Although it's not the usual recipe that my family gravitates towards, I am so glad I gave it a try! It is so yummy! And since it is loaded with healthy yummy things we don't feel the guilt along with our love for it. I've made it for several friends who were trying to find healthier recipes and they all have raved about it. We don't like olives so that is the only change we made - to omit them. Give it a try and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We just thought this was OK. I omitted the kidney beans and eggplant due to personal dislike adn subbed red pepper for green and taco seasoning for fajita. I fried the polenta and served the salsa on the side. Seemed like too much trouble for something that didn't knock off our socks, but it was a good meatless meal to for us to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I loved this -- really healthy, great for lunch the next day, zippy and filling. The kids didn't like it at all. I made it exactly as described and will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I thought this recipe was fabulous! It was very yummy and tasteful. I think next time I will add some cheddar to polenta (I had not had it before and think it is just a tad bland) but otherwise was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Pretty good. LP says if there was a vegetarian rating it would rate 5 stars. Personally, I wasn't fond of the pre-made polenta. Next time I'll make my own. Thank you for sharing and inspiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I liked this recipe, however I think next time I will fry the slices of polenta or bake the polenta by itself before adding the other ingredients because I didn't like the consistency on the bottom of the casserole. I liked the other ingredients but I ended up with a mushy flavorless layer at the bottom. Next time, I might also add some extra spices to the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've never cooked with polenta before, and I doubt I ever will again. The taste wasn't too bad but I really disliked the grainy mushy texture. Husband wasn't too keen either. The rest of the meal was ok. I added some red pepper flakes for a little heat. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Certainly a keeper...I made this with very few changes. I omitted the kidney beans (did not have any); only used 3/4 pack of fajita seasoning and served the salsa on the side w/sour cream & guacamole. It could use something to hold the beans/corn together (serve with caution..LOL)...but NO ONE slowed down on eating it. Very tasty....try with Mexican Rice II, Sweet Corn Tomalito, Best Guacamole & of course some Margaritas! :) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I was just looking for something vegetarian. This recipe really surprised me with the first bite. It was delicious. It's also very versatile because you can change the vegetables around to suit your own tastes. Thank you so much for posting this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Excellent for lunches. Even froze pretty well. Great alternative to meaty/starchy casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States