Polenta and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by hellobeastie
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was my first time making anything with polenta and it seemed really simple so I went for it. Along with a few other reviewers, I left out the salsa, and also the onions just because I'm not an onion fan. This was also my first time eating polenta. I tried it plain directly out of the tube and didn't think it was particularly tasty, and while it didn't add a whole lot of flavor to the dish, I really enjoyed the added texture of it. I will definitely make this dish again but I think next time I will mix the fajita seasoning with the beans and corn as well as with the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This dish single-handedly converted my mother out of the ideology that meat makes the meal. It's a completely filling, satisfying, great-tasting main dish for vegetarians and omnivores alike; a good choice for large dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
doesnt hold well, but is excellent in tortillas. i made it more mexican inspired with more peppers and pinto instead of kidney beans, and used taco/enchilada sauce instead of salsa. cheap and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Was pretty runny & didn't have a whole lot of flavor. Seemed to be better as leftovers the second day. Will probably make again, but I need to play around with it some more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was too layered - there was nothing to really hold it all together. I think it would be better with the beans, corn and salsa mixed with the sauteed veggies before topping the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this recipe for a party in which we had some guests who were vegetarian attending and it was a hit. I didnt have any eggplant but i substituted with more mushrooms and a whole can of olives. I also did not want to add salsa but i used prego instead and this gave the dish just the right tomato flavor without being too over powering. The dish was runny but everyone was still willing to dive right in. Everyone who ate it said it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was a delicious and healthy dinner. My 3 year old and 5 year old ate all of their serving. I served it with some flax chips I get at Costco and some mandarin oranges. Easy and great. Was able to freeze some for another night. I hope it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I loved this casserole, It's totally healthy and my kids loved it. Used all fresh vegetables from my farmer's market, even the corn. Shredded fresh mozzarella was a nice topping. Really a refreshing change for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
this is a great mix of ingredients - and the great thing is that you could use any vegetables you like. i followed the recipe fairly closely, the only thing i added was coriander (because i add it to everything). next time i will try it with squash and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was my first time cooking with polenta, I loved this recipe! I left out the eggplant and corn simply because I didn't have it on hand but didn't feel that anything was missing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States