Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this cake for the first time yesterday for Easter and it turned out good. Easy to make and easy to eat. I was not blown away, but I will experiment with other flavors like other reviewers suggested. I made a cherry cake and it was good, but not 5 star worthy. Peach would probably be good... Thanks for the recipe, Karin. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've made this many times (got it from a Kraft calendar recipe). I use the lemon jello and fold in lemon pudding (mixed, not dry) into the whipped cream. Very tasty. Beatiful garnished w/ lemon slices & lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somecookin'
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This cake is REALLY yummy. I always make it for my girls birthdays- and now my father-in-law requests it for his!(with Blueberry Jello) However, I don't use frozen whipped topping- I made it once, and it ruined the cake- So, I just make my own icing, using "Best White Icing Ever" by megan. It makes it sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is the cake we ate every summer at July fourth. We love it! Can also be served with fresh berries. Or bake the cake in a 13X9 pan and use strawberries and blueberries to decorate into a US flag. Thank you for a great reminder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Loved it. Used lemon jello and then garnished with lemon zest and mint leaves. Never knew a cake could be so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Try this: mix one (4 serving size) instant pudding with one cup of milk. Fold it with the whip topping before frosting. I used lemon jello and lemon pudding. It made a cake eater out of my cake avoiding husband. IT's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This recipe is very good and easy to make. I have made it with the white cake mix and strawberry jello and it was excellent. Also, I just made this with a chocolate cake mix and black cherry jello. It tasted like a black forest cake, very delicious. I plan to try it with a coconut cake and lime jello. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
this was very tasty, I used strawberry jello, put strawberries in between the two layers and served with sliced strawberries, however I think I will skip the whole layer thing and do it in a 9x13 pan next time seems like it would be much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I make this all the time. Everyone loves it. I get compliments all the time when I bring this to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother used to make it for us kids at Christmas. While I still love it, I cannot say that everyone else in my family loved it as much. Will still give it 5 stars though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States