Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This cake is so refreshing. I baked it for Valentines day and it was DE-LISH! Very versatile, next time I may to orange jello w/ mandarin oranges on top! Was going to bring this cake to work on Friday, so baked the cake mix on Wed. poked, poured jello, and frosted on Thursday and took to work on Friday morning. Will definitely make again! **I made this again w/ devils food cake, black cherry jello, and choc fudge frosting w/ marchino cherries on time. "Black Forest Cake" OMG! AMAZING! Will def. make again!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Ladyviola
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe was pretty simple, but I wasn't too overly impressed. My kids loved it though, so that's good enough for me. I'll make it again just for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Awesome! Great for a lighter dessert. It does need fresh fruit on top, I think. After trying it several times, we all like it best with raspberry jello and fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I make this cake at holiday time,, At Christmas I make one layer using lime jello, and other layer using strawberry/ banana jello.. refrigerate and frost as usual,, So cake comes out with red and green layers, very christmas looking.. Or you could use red and blue colored jellos for a 4th of July cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I've been using this for years, it's quick and light. It's always a hit. It's fun to use different flavors / colors of jello for each layer (at Christmas I do one green and one red)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used this for a white chocolate raspberry cake that I made for my mom. I used raspberry jello and made my own white chocolate flavored frosting. I also mixed some cool whip with raspberry jelly and used that for the middle layer. The jello really adds moistness to the cake, and it was delicious. I would also reccomend making your own frosting. However, using coolwhip for the middle layer is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
i make this all the time for the kids. they love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love poke cake! The best thing about it is you can really use any cake/jello combination. This is a very good recipe..thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Very Nice and Easy to Make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I gave the recipe a 4 because I made a few changes. With the changes it's definately a 5. I baked the cake in a 9x13 pan just to make it easier and I used orange jello. It had a creamsicle taste to it. Absolutely delicious. I will make again. Might try peach or black cherry in a chocolate cake. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States