Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe for a 4th of July potluck. Do half of the cake in red & half in blue. Decorate w/strawberries & blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Kids love it! I use regular Jello, usually red flavor looks good inside the cake when you cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is the perfect cake for summer. My mother-in-law makes this all the time. It is a family favorite. We like trying it with different gelatin flavors too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Oh, the memories. My sister Susan would make this cake. She used to bake a lot back in the day. This cake is so easy and full of flavor. The color pops as much as the fruity sweetness. I loved making this for my hubby's family. Which to my surprise had never had it before. I've made it a few times for them. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Super delicious! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Really good and so easy! I did a white cake with strawberry jello this time but another idea is to mix the jello and cake mix with a little frozen lemonade concentrate, I've done this before and made a raspberry lemonade poke cake that everyone raved about. Another idea for the icing is to mix the cool whip with a container of store bought icing to make a fluffy sweeter topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Awesome! We wanted to announce to our family that we are having a baby boy, so I made these into cupcakes and bought blueberry jello to use for the filling. They turned out SO yummy! The only mistake I made was over filling the cupcake liners, so when I went to put the jello on, it overspilled on the side. Just make sure not to OVERFILL the liners if you make for cupcakes! But they turned out SO yummy, and a fun way to announce the sex of our baby! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great recipe and so easy to make! I've made this before with a raspberry jello and this time it was made with lemon jello. I used the jumbo sized jello mix and it covered the whole 9X13 cake. It was covered with a powder sugar, cool whip and cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My Grandmother used to make this when I was young! Here is her recipe: 1 cake mix (we use yellow cake) bake cake normal & cool to luke warm, then poke holes with fork, making sure to go all the way to the bottom of the pan 2 (3oz) jello or 1 large jello (we use strawberry and sugar free works well too) mix with 1.5 cups boiling water and 1.5 cups of flavored soda (strawberry to match the jello flavor) stir well and cool...pour slowly over the top of cake, don't worry about over saturation...and refrigerate FROSTING: One small box of instant vanilla pudding (french vanilla adds an extra touch), 1.5 cups of cold milk and whip until firm...then fold in 4-5 oz of cool whip... top the cake and refrigerate until serving my mom uses different combinations...yellow cake with lemon/lime jello and sprite...or chocolate cake with cherry jello and wild cherry pop, the combinations are endless! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUBFAN71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States