Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I absolutely love pokecake. My family has been making this for years, and I looked up the recipe to make it for my friends one day (who were doubtful anything with jello poured on top of it could be good). I've had many requests for it since! I usually make it in a 13x9 pan, though I have made cupcakes, too. (Use the plain aluminum cupcake liners.) The nice thing about poke cupcakes is that you can also coordinate the jello color to the holiday (orange-flavored and dark berry for Halloween, lime and strawberry for Christmas, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I made this for my husband's birthday. Everyone loved it. I garnished with strawberries on top. Perfect cake for a warm spring day. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This is even easier in a 13X9 pan. I also use thawed strawberries and mix them with the whip cream. It makes presentation more elaborate, and it's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was by far the BEST cake I have ever made for a birthday cake for my family. Absolutely delicious and mouthwatering- more moist than ANY storebought cake! Instead of the usual oil/eggs, I added 1/4 C applesauce and 4 egg whites, you would never be able to tell the difference because the gelatin made it sooo moist! (even used sugar-free gelatin and lite whipped topping.. my little secret!!)I'm sure it would be just as delectable with the full fat ingredients--but if you can save a few calories with this low fat alteration, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Thank you for jogging my memory on a wonderful cake! It is cool and fruity and my idea of a perfect birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Delicious!! I have made this recipe for friends, family, and co-workers and each one asked for the recipe. To their surprise it was so simple. I added sweetened strawberry puree to the whipped topping to give it a "homemade" feel then drizzled the puree over the cake when I served it. Looks and tastes restaraunt quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I have looked for a poke cake recipe forever- and I finally found a great one! I used raspberry jello and it turned out sooo yummy- I will definitely be making this for tea parties and cool summer desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I made one cake layer with pineapple jello and one with strawberry. I added sweetened coconut to the whipped topping. The recipe is easy, cake is pretty and tastes very good! I would prefer one color of jello...except possibly green and red at christmas. Next time I will tint the coconut to match the jello color used. Thanks Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I too have made this many times and done lots of experimenting. I've used sugar free jello and light topping, also have used Jello pudding for topping - topped with whipped topping. If you have the time, it is good to make home made pudding and whip real cream for a topping. You can also add extras like real fruit, coconut, even chocolate chips etc. to gild the lilly. Fun to experiment for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I have made this several times for my grandsons birthday. I usually make it 3-4 layers and use different colors of Jello for each,we call it a rainbow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States