Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Besides that I am an obvious Jello fan, I liked this cake (which I first saw on the jello.com website - an amazing site by the way) because it it easy and fun to make and the kids love it. We made one at Christmas that was red and green jelloed and then made some small Jello jigglers of gingerbread men and Christmas trees and such to decorate the top. It was moist and the frosting wasn't so sickening sweet that it prevented you from having an extra slice without feeling ill. Like I said - it's a fun cake - have the kids help make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I made a triple-lemon cake using this recipe's main idea ... I baked a box-mix lemon cake in two 8" round pans and cooled. While cooling I made a package of lemon pudding, using the pie-filling instructions on the box, and refrigerated. When the cakes cooled out of the oven, I added the lemon jello per the instructions of this recipe, and allowed to cool in the fridge. To finish it off, I used the lemon pudding as the middle layer, and made my own white wedding cake frosting with a hint of lemon to top it off. If you like lemon you will LOVE this cake - lemony perfection!! ;) This would probably be quite yummy using cool whip for a top if you don't want to make a frosting. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is a very moist cake. I used a red and a blue jello for a 4th of July party and used blueberrys and strawberrys for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was fun! I made Nany's White Cake (from allrecipes.com) in a 9 X 13 pan. Then I only used 1 package of all natural strawberry jello in 1 cup boiling water. I didn't use the whipped topping, but it was great! I have a very picky son, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Thank you for jogging my memory on a wonderful cake! It is cool and fruity and my idea of a perfect birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I have made this several times for my grandsons birthday. I usually make it 3-4 layers and use different colors of Jello for each,we call it a rainbow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I too have made this many times and done lots of experimenting. I've used sugar free jello and light topping, also have used Jello pudding for topping - topped with whipped topping. If you have the time, it is good to make home made pudding and whip real cream for a topping. You can also add extras like real fruit, coconut, even chocolate chips etc. to gild the lilly. Fun to experiment for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I made one cake layer with pineapple jello and one with strawberry. I added sweetened coconut to the whipped topping. The recipe is easy, cake is pretty and tastes very good! I would prefer one color of jello...except possibly green and red at christmas. Next time I will tint the coconut to match the jello color used. Thanks Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I absolutely love pokecake. My family has been making this for years, and I looked up the recipe to make it for my friends one day (who were doubtful anything with jello poured on top of it could be good). I've had many requests for it since! I usually make it in a 13x9 pan, though I have made cupcakes, too. (Use the plain aluminum cupcake liners.) The nice thing about poke cupcakes is that you can also coordinate the jello color to the holiday (orange-flavored and dark berry for Halloween, lime and strawberry for Christmas, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was by far the BEST cake I have ever made for a birthday cake for my family. Absolutely delicious and mouthwatering- more moist than ANY storebought cake! Instead of the usual oil/eggs, I added 1/4 C applesauce and 4 egg whites, you would never be able to tell the difference because the gelatin made it sooo moist! (even used sugar-free gelatin and lite whipped topping.. my little secret!!)I'm sure it would be just as delectable with the full fat ingredients--but if you can save a few calories with this low fat alteration, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States