Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My Grandmother used to make this when I was young! Here is her recipe: 1 cake mix (we use yellow cake) bake cake normal & cool to luke warm, then poke holes with fork, making sure to go all the way to the bottom of the pan 2 (3oz) jello or 1 large jello (we use strawberry and sugar free works well too) mix with 1.5 cups boiling water and 1.5 cups of flavored soda (strawberry to match the jello flavor) stir well and cool...pour slowly over the top of cake, don't worry about over saturation...and refrigerate FROSTING: One small box of instant vanilla pudding (french vanilla adds an extra touch), 1.5 cups of cold milk and whip until firm...then fold in 4-5 oz of cool whip... top the cake and refrigerate until serving my mom uses different combinations...yellow cake with lemon/lime jello and sprite...or chocolate cake with cherry jello and wild cherry pop, the combinations are endless! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUBFAN71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
For a BBQ, I used a lemon cake, made in a 9x13" pan, with lime jello. Absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This cake is such a nice change from a traditional cake with heavy frosting. It's perfect for a warm spring or summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Family LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I bake my cake in a 9x13 pan and use orange gelatin. Yum! It's such a nice cool summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Fun and easy cake. People actually request this from me for parties. Especially good for barbecues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I have always made this with strawberry jello and whipped topping for the top but today I made cupcakes and used a lemon cake mix and used lemon jello. I then folded a can of buttercream frosting into some whipped topping and frosted them with that. I think we like it even better than the strawberry! I used less water in the jello (sugarles!) so that the jello would be a little tart. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe directed and my family was pleased. The cake was moist and fruity. I used raspberry jello. Easy to make, light and refreshing. I will make this again. Thanks from my family to yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Love this in a 9x13 pan! And the cupcakes are great for school functions. So many variations are possible! Fresh fruit on the topping, Jello Jigglers on top etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this cake to take to a pot luck and it was a BIG hit. I topped mine with home made whipped cream and strawberries w/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States