Poke Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I made this for my fiance's birthday(he is diabetic by the way)I took the regular box of white cake mix andinstead of the regular pudding and jello I used sugar free. He said it was the best cake he had in a long time. To tell you the truth you really couldn't even tell it was sugar free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I made this cake using strawberry flavored jello for my son's birthday. The kids loved it, and it was gone in a matter of minutes. It is an extremely moist, delicious cake. I can't wait to experiment with different flavored cake mix, pudding, and jello. I think a chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding, and black cherry flavored jello would be fantastic! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This turned out really well. I poked holes with a wooden spoon instead of the fork tines and so when the cake is cut, there are spots with the jello and some without. I thought it looked better this way. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MimiAlea
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I flipping love this cake. It is sooo easy to make and sooo delicious. If you want to make it even better you must sugar your greased baking pan, not flour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiAlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Really delicious! Everyone loved it... made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I thought that it was a very good recipe. Although, it was very sweet, between the cool whip and extra pudding. I think that there may be a little too much cool whip for my taste. But, I did like the extra pudding in the cake because it made it very moist. Instead of using white cake, I used strawberry cake for valentine's day. I also used strawberry jello. Every body who ate it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This cake is really moist and delicious! I "frosted" it with Redi-Wip to make the top of the cake pretty. Garnishing the top with slices or pieces of real fruit associated with the Jell-O flavor you're using would look nice, too. The next flavor I'm going to try is lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is a great cake! It is moist and is easy to make. I made it for a church picnic and was asked to make three for an event planned the following month! I have talked to others about a Poke cake and no one has ever used pudding. I think that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The actual cake (without jello) was good- nice and moist. I didn't really like the parts where the jello had completely saturated the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
easy, kid-friendly dessert! i chose lemon pudding and strawberry jello for our flavor combo, but you could do anything you wanted to. makes a pretty presentation when cutting the cake with the jello inside. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States