Poke Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This cake is very refreshing! I didn't make any changes (except for using a whipped frosting instead of whipped topping). I used orange jello to go with my hubby's team colors for a MS walk. I'm not sure the pudding was necessary, so next time I would just make the cake as directed on the box without the pudding. But it came out very moist and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Was not our favorite. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Awesome cake!!! I used strawberry jello and added real strawberries on top. It was De-lish! The only thing I will change next time is not using the entire thing of Jello. I will just coat the cake and fill all of the holes. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emwoods
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My family really loved this recipe! I used two 9" round pans and stacked them with a layer of Cool Whip in between. The baking time seemed a bit long, though it could have just been my mother-in-law's oven! I have yet to bake this in my own oven, but I am sure I will be doing so soon! I recommend using strawberry jello and garnishing with strawberries! Great Spring Dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I love this recipe. I changed it up with chocolate cake, chocolate pudding and berry fusion jello. I had two small pieces left after my son's birthday. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakersSecret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i usually make this dessert once every few months. no lies...easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Excellent! Will make for lots of birthdays in the future. My daughter wants to experiement with different flavor jellos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Good cake, just not phenomenal. I think the pudding made the cake too heavy, and if you used all the water in the gelatin it would be too diluted to taste it very well. I just used 1/2 c. boiling water to dissolve the gelatin, then 1/2 c. very cold water. I think the next time I made this type of cake I might try two boxes of gelatin, and just a plain white cake mix, no pudding added. I frosted this with the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I like this recipe a lot! It's very simple and quick and yummy all at the same time :o) I used the cake mix that comes with the pudding already in it according to the package directions so I made the lemon pudding mix with milk to spread over the cake once I had poked holes in it and covered it with the liquid lemon jello. After this set, I spread on the cool whip and stored in the refrigerator until Easter dinner the next day. Yummy, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My daughter made this cake, was easy. It was so light and refreshing. We used lemon pudding and lime jello. Very pretty for spring and Easter time. We used to make cake like this when we were kids also. Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States