Poke Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake is so easy to make and perfect for spring and summer. The pudding makes it so moist and delicious. I used cool whip as the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is different than I had prepared poke cake in the past. I'd always just made the cake according to the package directions and poured the gelatin over. This recipe was much richer and softer than just following the box directions. However, it makes a very THICK cake in a 9x13. Next time I will cut the recipe in half or make two cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very good! Never had cake with whip cream frosting, and would never have thought to put jello in with the cake! I wouldve liked more jello flavor, used strawberry,so will have to try it with a stronger tasting jello. Love using the pudding mix as well, made the cake very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Really delicious! Everyone loved it... made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is my husband's favorite cake and his mother used to always make it for his birthdays. Now that the task falls to me, I used this recipe. I thought it was pretty good, but my husband said he remembers the Jell-O being a lot more prevalent when his mom used to make it. I will probably use 2 boxes of gelatin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Easy, Yummyyyy, Happy people :) What else is there to say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This cake was perfect. Not too sweet yet extremely moist. It was a big hit with the kids as well. I did forget to put in the pudding mix but the cake turned out just fine. I used strawberry jello but I think just about any flavor would be tasty! I will definitely make this again on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This turned out really good if you like these cakes. I can't say that I'm very excited about them, but was asked to bring one to a baby shower. So this was my first try. The cake mix I used also had pudding in it so maybe that's why mined turned out extra tall and fluffy. I will use again if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I won't say I loved this, because I didn't. But everyone else did, so 4 stars :) This was very easy to do, and made a nice presentation overall. I topped with "Cool Whipped Frosting" from this site and made a flag cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was just okay. Not great, not bad. I used watermelon jello, and maybe that was the problem. The kids I served this to liked it a lot, but it was too wet and too sweet for my tastes (and I like sweet things!). I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States