Poke Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Brianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
The only difference I did was that when I did the topping, I didn't use fruit--I added sprinkles for a birthday cake. The only real issue I had was the jello liquid was more on the sides than in the middle of the cake, so my suggestion is to really poke some serious holes in the cake and make sure to get the liquid in it! I guess I just didn't poke it enough! HAHA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made this on St. Patrick's day using lime jell-o and have made a rainbow cake using 3 different flavors...strawberry, orange and lime in horizontal stripes and it always gets rave reviews! I made the cake and when it had set I used half on the bottom then inside was a pint of good vanilla ice-cream then put the other half on top and frosted the whole thing with Cool Whip. Put it in the freezer for an hour...ice-cream cake just special enough for a child's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
LOVE this recipe. So moist. I don't always add the Jell-o and it is still really moist as just a white cake. This is my stand-by white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Delish!!! Always comes out great & always a hit!!! Yum mm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was a little leery about making this, I was worried it would come out a soggy mess. I was pleasantly surprised. It came out pretty well. I used a wooden spoon to poke the holes instead of a fork, as I was wanting obvious jello sections rather than mush, and it worked. I also used cherry flavored jello instead of strawberry, as it has a slightly stronger and more obvious flavor. Came out good, a great Christmas dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Took this to a pot luck bible group and they LOVED IT! Super easy to make. Followed the recipe and used RASBERRY gelatin. I barely made it home with one with one slice for my hubby. i give it another 5 stars for a 10 star rating! Cuz it deserves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was great, I made a lemon cake with lime jello, so refreshing, and so many ways to be creative and flexible with flavors. The pudding really added something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSing

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was just okay. I used orange jell-o, and there just wasn't much flavor. Unfortunately, most of this cake did not get eaten, but it did look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This cake turns out a lot better if you don't add the pudding. My mom always made thins when I was growing up without the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Nice and easy. I love that you can use any cake mix and or jello combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States