Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very easy to make--i added 1 Tbs honey because i have never made anything with yeast that did not have a sugar and made with 1/2 ww pasty flour--turned out great either baked in the oven or fried in pan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I cut this down to 10 servings ( something I like about your website). I did 3 cups of wheat and 1.25 cups of all purpose. Also added some agave to the yeast and cut the salt in half. Best pita's I've ever made, tho they all did not pop, but they are still good tasting and better yet fits in with my clean eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I've made this twice and it worked well both times, but the pockets formed better when I rolled the dough thinner. I also tried it with about 1/3 wheat flour and with a soy-flour mix, and both were great. I enjoy mine as sandwiches, with hummus, or just dipped in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Pretty good! The only thing I was a little off about was that they took a while to soften up but they made great pockets and taste great! Once I had divided the dough, I kneaded each piece for another 2 minutes before rolling out and I think that may have helped them puff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used 4 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I rolled these in the traditional circles and they puffed up beautifully. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Wonderful Pita bread! This was better than Pappy's, puffed up very nicely and had a great flavor. Was easy to roll out as well. I added 2tbsp of light (in flavor) olive oil to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This recipe was fun and easy to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
having never made pita bread before, I found this recipe very easy to follow. I did make a few changes: I did not have bread flour, so I used all purpose and cut it down to 5 cups. the dough seemed tough when finished, but was quite workable after rising. I rolled mine out quite thin after the first few didn't puff much. I got a nice puff from the rest when they were thinner. I think in the future I will use 4 cups of flour to start and go from there. Nice flavour and a great addition to my sugar free diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Mine didn't puff up and create pockets, but the taste was incredible. I did flip them 3-4 minutes into baking, which is probably why they didn't pocket. I covered them with a damp kitchen towel after baking for a few minutes to help soften them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Love love love this recipe. Perfect just the way it is. If you want a chewier pocket, leave the dough a little thicker, makes a perfect scoop for your favorite dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States