Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I've made this twice and it worked well both times, but the pockets formed better when I rolled the dough thinner. I also tried it with about 1/3 wheat flour and with a soy-flour mix, and both were great. I enjoy mine as sandwiches, with hummus, or just dipped in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Wonderful Pita bread! This was better than Pappy's, puffed up very nicely and had a great flavor. Was easy to roll out as well. I added 2tbsp of light (in flavor) olive oil to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Pretty good! The only thing I was a little off about was that they took a while to soften up but they made great pockets and taste great! Once I had divided the dough, I kneaded each piece for another 2 minutes before rolling out and I think that may have helped them puff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I learned how to make pocket bread when I married my husband. His father's family was from Lebanon. The dough is basically the same although they put sugar in the dough. When we make bread a 10 pound bag of flour is used and we make about 150 loaves. I notice that people are having difficulty with the pockets forming. We divide the dough into balls , cover and let rise again. We then roll on a floured board (using cracked wheat) pretty thin. Using this method you should have very few fail to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used 4 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I rolled these in the traditional circles and they puffed up beautifully. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Sorry, this did not work for me and I've been cooking/baking for 50+ years. None of them puffed up as others I've made. I'll go back to my old recipe that works. I had to try it and followed directions to the T as I do when trying a new recipe but it was a mess and too much time and money to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very easy to make--i added 1 Tbs honey because i have never made anything with yeast that did not have a sugar and made with 1/2 ww pasty flour--turned out great either baked in the oven or fried in pan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This pocket bread turned out pretty good. The pockets formed well, and it was easy to make. It was a little too bland for my *personal* taste, however I think that was just personal preference. Next time I will try adding a little honey just to suit my own taste. Overall a pretty good recipe that can be easily modified to meet one's own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This bread reminded me of Indian fry bread, without the fat! Nice bready taste, and good texture. I do think, though, the breads need to be rolled out a little thinner to get a less dense bread for easier folding. But this is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These pocket breads, which I made with half whole wheat flour, turned out nice and soft. They didn't, however, have much of a "pocket." That's ok though. They were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States