Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These turned out very good, i think next time i will add a bit more salt to the mixture, because they turned out kinda bland. I rolled them out as circles, that seemed to make a decent pocket. I also agree with some of the other reviews, roll them thinner that it says and the pocket will form much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Sorry, this did not work for me and I've been cooking/baking for 50+ years. None of them puffed up as others I've made. I'll go back to my old recipe that works. I had to try it and followed directions to the T as I do when trying a new recipe but it was a mess and too much time and money to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The only thing that i changed was adding 1/4c. of honey to dough and my oven must not be as hot as others because I had to bake them for 8 min.at 500 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I learned how to make pocket bread when I married my husband. His father's family was from Lebanon. The dough is basically the same although they put sugar in the dough. When we make bread a 10 pound bag of flour is used and we make about 150 loaves. I notice that people are having difficulty with the pockets forming. We divide the dough into balls , cover and let rise again. We then roll on a floured board (using cracked wheat) pretty thin. Using this method you should have very few fail to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I cut this down to 10 servings ( something I like about your website). I did 3 cups of wheat and 1.25 cups of all purpose. Also added some agave to the yeast and cut the salt in half. Best pita's I've ever made, tho they all did not pop, but they are still good tasting and better yet fits in with my clean eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Love love love this recipe. Perfect just the way it is. If you want a chewier pocket, leave the dough a little thicker, makes a perfect scoop for your favorite dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Way too much salt and cook time is not nearly long enough. The first time I made this bread it was like eating doughy salt. I cut the salt in 1/2 and cooked the bread almost twice as long to get a decent pocket and color. After those adjustments it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaNuchols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Mine didn't puff up and create pockets, but the taste was incredible. I did flip them 3-4 minutes into baking, which is probably why they didn't pocket. I covered them with a damp kitchen towel after baking for a few minutes to help soften them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
having never made pita bread before, I found this recipe very easy to follow. I did make a few changes: I did not have bread flour, so I used all purpose and cut it down to 5 cups. the dough seemed tough when finished, but was quite workable after rising. I rolled mine out quite thin after the first few didn't puff much. I got a nice puff from the rest when they were thinner. I think in the future I will use 4 cups of flour to start and go from there. Nice flavour and a great addition to my sugar free diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I've tried this twice and both times the dough was a gluey, gloppy mess, impossible to work with and went straight into the trash. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but there is not enough flour or something in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States