Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
so much fun for me and my 7 year old son to make our own pita! These came together very smoothly, and out of a double batch we only had three that didn't puff up properly (those were the ones my son rolled out, surprise!). Letting them rest between making them into balls and rolling them out made them much better. I did change out for 1/3 whole wheat flour, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made these just like the recipe said and they were wonderful. So easy to make. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was easy to make and the loaves formed very well. Be carefull not to over cook them or they will be hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I used this recipe as a "starter". I agree with other members that thinner is better than thicker. I used whole wheat and rice flour and my family thought they were perfect. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
First time I ever tried to make these. I did exactly as the recipe said. They tasted great but strangely only half of them puffed up. Can't figure that one out. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This did not work for me. I have to be fair, I'm not an experienced cook so when I saw there were only 4 ingredients I thought I could tackle this. It calls for 6 cups of flour but I could only manage to get about 4 cups into the dough. No matter how hard I tried it wouldn't take any more flour then that. It puffed up better when I rolled it out really thin but it still just didn't turn out the way I had hoped. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yacqueli
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Loved how the bread turned out, but I had to add an extra tsp or so of water because the dough was so dry. It really didn't DOUBLE in size but maybe it wasn't hot enough? I added a Tbsp of agave nectar to keep it vegan and add just a touch of sweetness. Again, thank you for the recipe! I am still excited about it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great! Better than any pocket bread I can get in our local store. After the two hour rise, I had to knead the dough for about 4 minutes, and that helped. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These turned out very good, i think next time i will add a bit more salt to the mixture, because they turned out kinda bland. I rolled them out as circles, that seemed to make a decent pocket. I also agree with some of the other reviews, roll them thinner that it says and the pocket will form much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States