Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very easy to make--i added 1 Tbs honey because i have never made anything with yeast that did not have a sugar and made with 1/2 ww pasty flour--turned out great either baked in the oven or fried in pan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This recipe was fun and easy to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This bread reminded me of Indian fry bread, without the fat! Nice bready taste, and good texture. I do think, though, the breads need to be rolled out a little thinner to get a less dense bread for easier folding. But this is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Wonderful Pita bread! This was better than Pappy's, puffed up very nicely and had a great flavor. Was easy to roll out as well. I added 2tbsp of light (in flavor) olive oil to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used 4 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I rolled these in the traditional circles and they puffed up beautifully. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Pretty good! The only thing I was a little off about was that they took a while to soften up but they made great pockets and taste great! Once I had divided the dough, I kneaded each piece for another 2 minutes before rolling out and I think that may have helped them puff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
very good, to get a thicker bread than they sell in the supermarket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I've made this twice and it worked well both times, but the pockets formed better when I rolled the dough thinner. I also tried it with about 1/3 wheat flour and with a soy-flour mix, and both were great. I enjoy mine as sandwiches, with hummus, or just dipped in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These pocket breads, which I made with half whole wheat flour, turned out nice and soft. They didn't, however, have much of a "pocket." That's ok though. They were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This pocket bread turned out pretty good. The pockets formed well, and it was easy to make. It was a little too bland for my *personal* taste, however I think that was just personal preference. Next time I will try adding a little honey just to suit my own taste. Overall a pretty good recipe that can be easily modified to meet one's own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States