Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Delicious! I roasted the peppers over the flame of my gas cooktop and used stock made from the carcass of the turkey I smoked at Thanksgiving. The soup was just at the top edge of the heat (as in spicy heat, not temperature heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This soup was fantastic!. I put the milk in the microwave for a couple of minutes to heat. This made it easier than watching it on the stove top, not to scorch. Taste is a little spicy at first, but keep eating it gets better and better. I did serve with a droplet of sour cream on each serving. I will make this often as I love the taste of the poblano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Well, everybody's heat tolerance is differet, and it is true these peppers can vary. I left in most seeds and even roasted a jalapeno (with seeds)and threw in with this - pretty darn hot, but with a dollop of sour cream on top and a little cream in the soup. Yummy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I make a version of this soup that is beyond DELICIOUS! I add crispy bacon, some cream cheese and I could eat this every day!!! Also, I sometimes add some potatoe flakes just to thicken it up. By itself it is not a thick soup but the flavor is amazing. Also, you can buy strips of frozen poblano peppers at my local walmart for very cheap which makes this super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't use nutmeg as I didn't have it, but, it turned out wonderfully. To the person who said it was way too hot, that the next time he/she would remove the seeds....DUH, read the recipe. It CLEARLY states to remove the seeds and membranes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Yummy! Great flavor, good texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was delicious. I don't care too much for spicy food so I only used 4 poblano peppers. I have made this twice with perfect results. I used shredded chicken in one batch and also have used crumbled turkey italian sausage in another. Also it is nice because you can substitute cream, half and half, evap. milk for the regular milk and still get a great flavor. For a healthier version, I used nonfat milk and shredded chicken and it is very good! Recommend to everyone. Make sure to use a dollop of nonfat sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I thought this soup was great. I added roasted onionss as well as garlic to the mix. I also only used half the peppers. Although next time I wouold have left out the milk, it watered down the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was delicious. I omitted the nutmeg and added roasted garlic and onions. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Added garlic powder, and more milk than chicken stock. I also doubled the roux to make it thicker. I added bacon but thought it tasted great before i added it. Great for veggie eaters.. leave out the bacon and use veggie stock instead. I only used 4 peppers but they were good size. It was the perfect spicyness. It had an awesome flavor, much better than these reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States