Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I make a version of this soup that is beyond DELICIOUS! I add crispy bacon, some cream cheese and I could eat this every day!!! Also, I sometimes add some potatoe flakes just to thicken it up. By itself it is not a thick soup but the flavor is amazing. Also, you can buy strips of frozen poblano peppers at my local walmart for very cheap which makes this super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have made this soup-it is wonderful!!! BUT NEVER, NEVER RUN YOUR PEPPERS UNDER WATER IF YOU BROIL OR ROAST-YOU WASH AWAY ALL THE SMOKEY FLAVOR. The purpose of broiling or roasting peppers is the smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
As written it just didn't have much flavor. After adding garlic, cumin, seasoning salt, 1&1/2c corn, garnishing with diced white onion and fresh cilanto we enjoyed it very much. Will make again with these changes. Our soup bowls are not very big and we got just 4 servings and that was with the corn added. Thanks Holly for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Soup is great, with some changes. I subbed mexican crema for the milk, added cumin, garlic, a can of corn, a can of black beans, and a can of diced tomatoes. Turned out delicious! Ate it as a soup the first day, then rolled chicken in tortillas and made it a variation of enchiladas for the next meal. Versatile as either a soup or a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Delicious! I roasted the peppers over the flame of my gas cooktop and used stock made from the carcass of the turkey I smoked at Thanksgiving. The soup was just at the top edge of the heat (as in spicy heat, not temperature heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe was waaaaayyy to HOT! I mean painful to eat...and I love spicy foods. I even used 5 peppers (the recipe calls for 6). The taste was very nice however, so I think if I make it again I would remove all the seeds which are what give it the zing. It was a little too chunky so I strained it and added some cream which created a very smooth and creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was good but as one person said, more of a sauce. To make it more like soup I added grilled chicken breast and a can of Mexican corn. I also added minced onion and minced garlic and white pepper. It was very thin for our liking, so I added about 2 Tbsp. of corn starch to thicken it more. I served it with some shredded Cheddar Jack cheese on top and a sprinkle of paprika for color, with chips on the side. It'd also be good with rice put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I scaled this down to 2 servings, but I used 2 peppers instead of 3 because the peppers I bought were very large. Our oven doeesn't have a broiler, so I did what another reviewer said, and roasted the peppers over my gas stove top, which worked nicely. Poblano peppers are not very spicy to begin with, they are a step above bell peppers in regards to heat. However, when you roast any pepper over a flame, the flavor is intensified, so it does seem to have more spice. I enjoyed this soup, I love the taste. I did not add the salt (I don't like a lot of salt in my food), but I wish I had added a dollop of sour cream, as others suggested. I'll give that a try next time. Thanks, MARBALET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Well, everybody's heat tolerance is differet, and it is true these peppers can vary. I left in most seeds and even roasted a jalapeno (with seeds)and threw in with this - pretty darn hot, but with a dollop of sour cream on top and a little cream in the soup. Yummy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
When you have to make so many changes to a recipe, it is not the original that you are rating, so unlike many other reviews who told all the things they added to make this delicious, I will say it was way too much work for a soup that was not to our liking. It wasn't that spicy at all, it was relatively thin and really lacked a good flavor. Won't bother trying to improve on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States