Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I make a version of this soup that is beyond DELICIOUS! I add crispy bacon, some cream cheese and I could eat this every day!!! Also, I sometimes add some potatoe flakes just to thicken it up. By itself it is not a thick soup but the flavor is amazing. Also, you can buy strips of frozen poblano peppers at my local walmart for very cheap which makes this super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have made this soup-it is wonderful!!! BUT NEVER, NEVER RUN YOUR PEPPERS UNDER WATER IF YOU BROIL OR ROAST-YOU WASH AWAY ALL THE SMOKEY FLAVOR. The purpose of broiling or roasting peppers is the smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
As written it just didn't have much flavor. After adding garlic, cumin, seasoning salt, 1&1/2c corn, garnishing with diced white onion and fresh cilanto we enjoyed it very much. Will make again with these changes. Our soup bowls are not very big and we got just 4 servings and that was with the corn added. Thanks Holly for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Soup is great, with some changes. I subbed mexican crema for the milk, added cumin, garlic, a can of corn, a can of black beans, and a can of diced tomatoes. Turned out delicious! Ate it as a soup the first day, then rolled chicken in tortillas and made it a variation of enchiladas for the next meal. Versatile as either a soup or a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Delicious! I roasted the peppers over the flame of my gas cooktop and used stock made from the carcass of the turkey I smoked at Thanksgiving. The soup was just at the top edge of the heat (as in spicy heat, not temperature heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This recipe was waaaaayyy to HOT! I mean painful to eat...and I love spicy foods. I even used 5 peppers (the recipe calls for 6). The taste was very nice however, so I think if I make it again I would remove all the seeds which are what give it the zing. It was a little too chunky so I strained it and added some cream which created a very smooth and creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was good but as one person said, more of a sauce. To make it more like soup I added grilled chicken breast and a can of Mexican corn. I also added minced onion and minced garlic and white pepper. It was very thin for our liking, so I added about 2 Tbsp. of corn starch to thicken it more. I served it with some shredded Cheddar Jack cheese on top and a sprinkle of paprika for color, with chips on the side. It'd also be good with rice put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I scaled this down to 2 servings, but I used 2 peppers instead of 3 because the peppers I bought were very large. Our oven doeesn't have a broiler, so I did what another reviewer said, and roasted the peppers over my gas stove top, which worked nicely. Poblano peppers are not very spicy to begin with, they are a step above bell peppers in regards to heat. However, when you roast any pepper over a flame, the flavor is intensified, so it does seem to have more spice. I enjoyed this soup, I love the taste. I did not add the salt (I don't like a lot of salt in my food), but I wish I had added a dollop of sour cream, as others suggested. I'll give that a try next time. Thanks, MARBALET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Well, everybody's heat tolerance is differet, and it is true these peppers can vary. I left in most seeds and even roasted a jalapeno (with seeds)and threw in with this - pretty darn hot, but with a dollop of sour cream on top and a little cream in the soup. Yummy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetaria
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is really good! I think next time I'll add an onion to the mix to jazz it up a bit. I really don't think this needs heavy whipping cream at all. Just a little half and half to cut down on fat/calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States