Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Didn't have much flavor and was way to thick. My husband is from mexico and he said it wasn't a soup, it was a sauce. He thought it was really hot although I didn't think so. It was a little spicy but not too bad. It was fine for me as a soup I just thought it lacked some flavor. I will take some suggestions of the other reviewers and see what I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Too spicy. Not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
As written it just didn't have much flavor. After adding garlic, cumin, seasoning salt, 1&1/2c corn, garnishing with diced white onion and fresh cilanto we enjoyed it very much. Will make again with these changes. Our soup bowls are not very big and we got just 4 servings and that was with the corn added. Thanks Holly for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was a great recipe! I had to tweak it a bit, hence the 4 stars. I used 5 peppers instead of 6. To have a creamier soup, I used 5 oz evap milk, 1/2 cup of half and half milk, and then for the rest I used whole milk. I did add about a tblspn of parmesan cheese. Oh, and I also used vegetable stock. It was still a little spicy but I added some tortilla strips to lessen the zing. It was very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I thought this soup was great. I added roasted onionss as well as garlic to the mix. I also only used half the peppers. Although next time I wouold have left out the milk, it watered down the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I thought this was missing something. I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk and the texture was beautiful, but it was spicy, but just not flavorful enough for me. I would definetly make this again, but add some white beans and chicken. And if you add the milk very very slowly, you dont need to warm it first. (JUST KEEP STIRRING)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was delicious. I don't care too much for spicy food so I only used 4 poblano peppers. I have made this twice with perfect results. I used shredded chicken in one batch and also have used crumbled turkey italian sausage in another. Also it is nice because you can substitute cream, half and half, evap. milk for the regular milk and still get a great flavor. For a healthier version, I used nonfat milk and shredded chicken and it is very good! Recommend to everyone. Make sure to use a dollop of nonfat sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Well, everybody's heat tolerance is differet, and it is true these peppers can vary. I left in most seeds and even roasted a jalapeno (with seeds)and threw in with this - pretty darn hot, but with a dollop of sour cream on top and a little cream in the soup. Yummy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELY C.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I added extra cream and a small cooked zucchini because the peppers where too hot! But overall good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I really like this recipe. It was real easy and very tasty. I have made it several times and sometimes its hot and other times a little mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States