Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Added garlic powder, and more milk than chicken stock. I also doubled the roux to make it thicker. I added bacon but thought it tasted great before i added it. Great for veggie eaters.. leave out the bacon and use veggie stock instead. I only used 4 peppers but they were good size. It was the perfect spicyness. It had an awesome flavor, much better than these reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was delicious. I omitted the nutmeg and added roasted garlic and onions. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't use nutmeg as I didn't have it, but, it turned out wonderfully. To the person who said it was way too hot, that the next time he/she would remove the seeds....DUH, read the recipe. It CLEARLY states to remove the seeds and membranes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Yummy! Great flavor, good texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I scaled this down to 2 servings, but I used 2 peppers instead of 3 because the peppers I bought were very large. Our oven doeesn't have a broiler, so I did what another reviewer said, and roasted the peppers over my gas stove top, which worked nicely. Poblano peppers are not very spicy to begin with, they are a step above bell peppers in regards to heat. However, when you roast any pepper over a flame, the flavor is intensified, so it does seem to have more spice. I enjoyed this soup, I love the taste. I did not add the salt (I don't like a lot of salt in my food), but I wish I had added a dollop of sour cream, as others suggested. I'll give that a try next time. Thanks, MARBALET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
A very good soup. I think a can of black beans would be a good addition, just to make it more filling. Otherwise it was perfectly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It definitely needs tweaking but is a great base recipe. I even added canned tomatoes to mine, drained, and it was much better. I also added Cumin, sauted onion, garlic, oregano, parsely, and the corn as did previous posters. I only used 3 Pablanos as well but it definitely needs at least 1 if not 2 more. My DH said it reminded him of soup he at frequently while in El Salvaor. The El Salvadorian variety was just much more tomato based. As I said great base recipe that I do plan to make again and build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grunig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I make a version of this soup that is beyond DELICIOUS! I add crispy bacon, some cream cheese and I could eat this every day!!! Also, I sometimes add some potatoe flakes just to thicken it up. By itself it is not a thick soup but the flavor is amazing. Also, you can buy strips of frozen poblano peppers at my local walmart for very cheap which makes this super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was good but as one person said, more of a sauce. To make it more like soup I added grilled chicken breast and a can of Mexican corn. I also added minced onion and minced garlic and white pepper. It was very thin for our liking, so I added about 2 Tbsp. of corn starch to thicken it more. I served it with some shredded Cheddar Jack cheese on top and a sprinkle of paprika for color, with chips on the side. It'd also be good with rice put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I couldn't eat it at all, it was so spicy and neon green, it had too many peppers for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States