Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by violetaria
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is really good! I think next time I'll add an onion to the mix to jazz it up a bit. I really don't think this needs heavy whipping cream at all. Just a little half and half to cut down on fat/calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I tried this recipe but used cumin, caramelized chopped onion, sauteed garlic, a dash of nutmeg, some roasted acorn squash, 2 cans of creamed corn, 1 cup of milk instead of 2, and 1.5 cups of homemade chicken stock. I blended the vegetables minus the corn until it was smooth, then added the corn and milk sauce and heated it through. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese. I'm not sure if I should even rate it because I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but I think what we had was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I used about 4 poblano and a quarter of a hungarian roasted wax pepper. I also added one onion sauteed with some cumin and a head of roasted garlic. I used 1.5 cups of milk. During the last 15 minutes I diced up some zucchini that I had to give it some texture. It was definitely spicy so I may go with 2 poblano and no wax pepper. Definitely add the sour cream at the end. It helps round out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Halved this recipe, EXCEPT the chicken broth. (Used full amount). Added one onion, 4 cloves of garlic, and white pepper. Used olive oil instead of butter b/c we were out. WAS SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I thought this was bland as written. I did not find it very spicy. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
i removed seeds and veins but added a medium hot pepper, blended it all in the Saucepan at the end then added cream cheese about 2 tbs it is spicy but great on cold Michigan days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have made this soup-it is wonderful!!! BUT NEVER, NEVER RUN YOUR PEPPERS UNDER WATER IF YOU BROIL OR ROAST-YOU WASH AWAY ALL THE SMOKEY FLAVOR. The purpose of broiling or roasting peppers is the smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is a pretty simple recipe and it tastes good. I used Cream of Chicken instead of chicken broth and it makes it a very creamy soup. I also added a tiny amount of minced garlic, cilantro and Nature's Seasoning. Make sure you burn the peppers well. One didn't burn well for me and it was harder to peel. I also didn't put my peppers in a paper bag. I just set them on top of the oven to let them cool. I think I will mix this with white rice for dinner tonight. It is just the right amount of spicy. Not painful, but warm. I would rate it as mild, but I like spicy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Soup is great, with some changes. I subbed mexican crema for the milk, added cumin, garlic, a can of corn, a can of black beans, and a can of diced tomatoes. Turned out delicious! Ate it as a soup the first day, then rolled chicken in tortillas and made it a variation of enchiladas for the next meal. Versatile as either a soup or a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This soup was fantastic!. I put the milk in the microwave for a couple of minutes to heat. This made it easier than watching it on the stove top, not to scorch. Taste is a little spicy at first, but keep eating it gets better and better. I did serve with a droplet of sour cream on each serving. I will make this often as I love the taste of the poblano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States