Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
As others have mentioned, a good starter base to which you can experiment and add to. By itself to me it was really more like a spicy green enchilada sauce than a soup. Here is what I did extra - used 1 quart of chicken broth for the liquids and no milk. I made a proper roux of 4-5 tb butter and equal amt of flour to thicken, then put the roux, a cup or so of the broth, roasted peppers and half a can of corn and 3 minced garlic cloves and cumin into the blender to puree- mixed that back into the pot of broth with the rest of the canned corn, one can rinsed black beans, one can of fire roasted tomatoes undrained, and one shredded leftover chicken breast. Let it simmer and thicken about 40 minutes and then stirred in a few handfuls of shredded cheddar, 1/4 cup (about) chopped fresh cilantro and two chopped green onions and let that melt and meld for another 15 minutes. Hubby said it was a keeper that way, with many layers of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Not a "wow, I have to make that again" recipe. I added some pepper jack cheese and cream of chicken soup to elevate the flavor. It took quite a bit of salt. My husband wasn't impressed at first, then said the flavors grew on him. I can't say I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used knorr chicken bouillon to make the broth and think i did not need any extra salt, i think i added about a teaspoon extra. It was so tasty and mine turned out more red as my peppers had red in them. I did not change anything else and was very pleased with result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Roasted peppers over grill. Saute onions and garlic. Then blended peeled peppers, onions and garlic in blender. Also seasoned w/cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent. Be sure to remove seeds before roasting takes care of the heat from peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delish! I even used fat free milk cuz thats all i had...and my first time roasting peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious. I did it exactly the same as the recipe the first time and probably will make it just like the most of the time.The flavor on its own is that good! However, this soup is so versatile you could add all kinds of things;beans, sour cream, corn, chicken, diced tomatoes. Making this again today as I am CRAVING it! Oh and so healthy!!! Did you know that chilis have more vitamin C in them than oranges? Yep, it's a fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
When you have to make so many changes to a recipe, it is not the original that you are rating, so unlike many other reviews who told all the things they added to make this delicious, I will say it was way too much work for a soup that was not to our liking. It wasn't that spicy at all, it was relatively thin and really lacked a good flavor. Won't bother trying to improve on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I was looking for a clone of a recipe I had at Guadalajara Restaurant in Houston, but this wasn't it. It was bland, despite adding seasonings as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for the post, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe was ok. I followed the instructions exactly except I only used 3 peppers & added chicken to the finished product. The soup was too thin for my taste. It turned out really spicy. Other than the spiciness it was pretty bland. At this point I added onion powder, garlic powder, 1 c milk, 1 c broth, & some sour cream. This made it thinner so I made some rice and poured it over. It wasn't bad but wasn't great either. Everyone in my family refused to eat it. Overall, I gave it 3 stars because I think with a few experiments this could be a really good recipe. I will probably use this recipe in the future to turn into something really good since I enjoy experimenting with recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States