Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Love this recipe! I noticed that a lot of people think that it is bland- it must have to do with the flavor of the poblanos. We used 8 small poblanos from our garden, and it was spicy and wonderful. After reading another review, we added a Mexican crumbly white cheese (Queso Cojita) to the mozzarella, and it was delicious. The cooking method for the chicken really seemed to make a difference. Chicken breast can be dry, but this was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
After trying many, these are the best. Used one rotisserie chicken breast, shredded. Roasted some poblano and Hatch chiles, peeled, then added 4 little pequin chiles for some heat, a handfull of cilantro, 4 green onions, a TB cumin, cup chicken broth and cup F/F sour cream to the blender. Simmered a bit as instructed. Used Pam to "fry" the 5 corn tortillas just to the point of still being pliable. Filled w/chicken, topped w/sauce and some reduced fat Mexi-cheese. Only used 1/2 the sauce, saved the rest for later. Popped in oven for 15-20 minutes to get it heated through and melt the cheese. Hubby agreed these are the best I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
=D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
very good i would have had better luck if i had a food processor :) but was delicious anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fullofmalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Already made it twice in two weeks. Think the hubby is addicted to this. First recipe I've ever done with poblano. Really easy even if the recipe seems labour intensive. In an hour dinner is ready, quite reasonable in my opinion. Can be prep'd the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were good, I did everything exactly as stated and normally my husband doesn't really like poblanos aside from rellenos but the addition of the sour cream reduced the extreme poblano taste that usually goes along with green sauce. My husband didn't even realize the green sauce was made from poblano!! Definitely a keeper, gracias a ti Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Once I learned how to peel the peppers, this turned out to be a very simple dish. It's messy to make but tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardenas427

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Absolutely excellent, and I have never even made enchiladas before. Also, I served this with unfried chile relleno, used queso fresco instead of mozzarella (because I didn't have any, but it turned out great), and I shredded the chicken which made it so perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made this recipe for a Cinco de Mayo happy hour at an active seniors building where I am the assistant manager and my very picky seniors loved them! Excellent flavor without being overly spicy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States