Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were the most awesome enchiladas! Even though I'm a spicy-food wimp (I buy the Mild salsa), and these were quite spicy, I loved them, and just chugged lots of milk to cool the heat. I had extra sauce, which was wonderful over some brown rice I made to accompany the meal, and even mixed in with scrambled eggs and potatoes the next morning for breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Really liked the sauce. Chicken was a little bland. I think they could use a little more inside to liven them up. May try the sauce with spicy shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Really yummy., I used plain yogurt with a squeeze of lemon instead of sour cream because i didnt have any. Also, next time will use a sharper cheese, the mozz was nice but didnt have much kick. I added corn too. Note to self: be careful with the peppers next time, my fingers and knuckles are still in pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Amazing! One of the best things I ever made. Pan frying the tortillas gived the dish a terrific texture. I saved time by boiling rotisserie chicken breasts in chicken broth and then shredding. I also put the whole dish under the broiler to melt the cheese. Serve this with fresh salsa and hot sauce and you will be happy, happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe tastes AMAZING, but it is a lot of work! I know it says 40 minutes at the top... but just blackening and letting the peppers sit is almost an hour. We really love this recipe, but it takes a long time for us to prepare and we would not consider it "easy" to make. It's not something you throw together! But again, it is absolutely delicious when we do make it (every 3-6 months or so). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were really great! My BF (who is a self-professed Mexican food expert) absolutely loved them! The sauce is especially good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Love this recipe! I noticed that a lot of people think that it is bland- it must have to do with the flavor of the poblanos. We used 8 small poblanos from our garden, and it was spicy and wonderful. After reading another review, we added a Mexican crumbly white cheese (Queso Cojita) to the mozzarella, and it was delicious. The cooking method for the chicken really seemed to make a difference. Chicken breast can be dry, but this was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
After trying many, these are the best. Used one rotisserie chicken breast, shredded. Roasted some poblano and Hatch chiles, peeled, then added 4 little pequin chiles for some heat, a handfull of cilantro, 4 green onions, a TB cumin, cup chicken broth and cup F/F sour cream to the blender. Simmered a bit as instructed. Used Pam to "fry" the 5 corn tortillas just to the point of still being pliable. Filled w/chicken, topped w/sauce and some reduced fat Mexi-cheese. Only used 1/2 the sauce, saved the rest for later. Popped in oven for 15-20 minutes to get it heated through and melt the cheese. Hubby agreed these are the best I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
=D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
very good i would have had better luck if i had a food processor :) but was delicious anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fullofmalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States