Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is my new favorite Mexican dish! The sauce is incredible!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I'm not a great cook, but I love mexican kitchen, so I tried it. This meal is quite easy and also one of the best enchiladas I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Very good, authentic flavor. I'll definitely keep this handy when I'm looking for something more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have mixed feelings about this, overall the flavor was good but my tortillas totally fell apart and were soggy. I did fry the tortillas as instructed, but it just turned into enchilada mush. I will try again with different corn tortillas next time and see if that improves the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was so delicious I offered to take my husband's plate back and bring him a nice tuna fish sandwich. I did sub low-fat cheddar for the mozzarella (because that's what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
just a pain to make. i would suggest prepping the day before by roasting the peppers and boiling the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Delish! Instead of using 2 raw chicken breast, I used left over rotisserie chicken. Since my chicken was already cooked I added it to the stock with the onion and garlic for only the last 20 minutes. After the chicken cooled, i shredded it with 2 forks instead of slicing (personal preference). Next time, after draining 1 cup of the liquid, i will reserve the remaining onions and garlic and add it to the shredded chicken inside of the enchiladas (seemed like a waste not to use it). Do not skip the step of crisping the tortillas. Tip: make sure to BLACKEN ALL areas of the pepper and sweat them for a minimum of 30 minutes or longer and it will be a breeze to remove the skin...use gloves when handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good stuff...did take the advice of others and added about a half teaspoon of cumin and about a teaspoon of salt. Will make again. I think frying the tortillas is an important step that shouldn't be skipped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
A little tip; when cleaning the Chile's, peel the big parts of skin off and use a small section of paper towel and wipe the rest of the peel off. I quarter a paper towel when we start. Makes cleaning them much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These are "Oh my God, Good!" I cannot eat tomatoes yet love Mexican food. (Do you know how hard it is to find Mexican recipes without tomatoes!?!?) I was so excited to find this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and they were fantastic! My husband didn't say a word all through dinner... just kept eating and nodding his head. (That's a good sign!) The leftovers weren't quite as good as the tortillas were really mushy but it was still enjoyable! This is being added to my favorites list!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States