Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Wish they had more stars for this recipe! The only changes I made were: 1) added a chipotle pepper and a little bit of the adobo sauce they're canned in to the poblano sauce mixture to spice it up a little, 2) as another reviewer suggested, shredded the chicken instead of slicing it, and 3) put the enchiladas in a baking dish and baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes before topping with the cheese. I have now abandoned the chicken enchilada recipe I've been using for years - THIS is now my go-to enchilada recipe! Also, because it's easier and requires less clean-up, I used my immersion blender for the sauce, and it worked really great. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Made this last night. Used 4 poblanos, and it was extremely spicy! If gringa means what I think it means, then this is too spicy for one! I forgot to add the shredded cheese, and I'm actually glad I did, because it would have been a waste. The recipe has potential, so I'll need to sit down and think about where it needs to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is delicious! I used regular canned chilies and used the corn tortillas to make a lasagna or casserole of sorts. It was my first time making enchiladas and I was amazed that it actually tasted like ... enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
OMG. The best. I changed some things. I used a rotisserie chicken shredded it, man was it flavorfull and so moist. I roasted fresh garlic in the oven with the poblanos although I think it would still be good without that. I used store bought chicken stock and placed that, a couple if my roasted garlic cloves, a piece of the onion, the sour cream and blended until smooth. I stuffed with Chicken and chedder cheese instead of the mozzarella rolled, placed on plate topped it with more cheese and put it in the microwave to melt cheese. The drizzled more sauce over them. Sauce was very spicey so made each member of the family according to their taste, using less sauce on some and saturated my husband's, as he love's spicy food. This is a most try. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
wonderful recipe! My whole family loved it, even picky kiddos....total keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is one of those "Don't Talk To Me I'm Eating" recipes! These are delicious!! I was originally going to add a jalapeno to the sauce, as other reviewers have recommended, because we like spicy food. I'm so glad that I tasted the sauce before I did this! It was very spicy already and after I added the chicken stock mixture it was absolutely perfect. When I put the sauce on the stove top I did have to add some seasoning salt, but that was about it. I didn't fry the tortillas, just threw them in the oven for 13 mins at 350F. I didn't have any onion, so I had to leave those out, but those would be a fantastic addition, can't wait to add them in next time. These are delicious, try them, you will not be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
The sauce needed a little tweaking but these were overall pretty good. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Delicious - made these for a party and everyone loved them. I like them with verde sauce and white cheese the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collbran, Colorado, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States