Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
One of my favorite recipes I've found on here so far. The only change I've made is sometimes, instead of using just the poblano chiles, I've substituted one poblano for some Serrano or Jalapenos chiles to kick up the spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These were really good. I followed the recipe, but I think next time I will add some cheese on top of the chicken before rolling. I also made my own tortillas. I will definately make this again. Thanks Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great super simple recipe! I was a little dubious at first at how thin mine turned out but it was perfect. I have always softened my tortillas in a little hot oil before rolling them. This time was no different. This will be going into my rotation. OH! I didn't taste my poblanos beforehand which was a mistake. These were unusually hot. No mind blowing just hotter than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I love roasted poblanos and was looking for more ways to use them. This was pretty tasty, and I agree with everyone that the chicken preparation was particularly tasty. However, the dish as a whole was missing something for me. Next time I think I will try adding jalapeño and chopped cilantro to the poblano sauce for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is the closest recipe I have found to my favorite enchiladas at our local restaurant! I will definitely make it again. For my personal convenience and flavor, I will use 4 cans of chilis and include cheese inside the tortilla with the chicken (leftover chicken would also be perfect). I happened to have pepper jack cheese and the addition of the jalepeno flavored cheese was phenomenol. I also baked the dish because it felt like a natural step--and I was also a little nervous about the green sauce. I shouldn't have been though. The creamy, chili flavor was outstanding! As a matter of fact, I was wishing there was more sauce, and then wondered if baking had made the dish drier than it should have been. I think next time I will just broil the cheese to brown it, as opposed to baking it. Thank you for this delicious recipe!! I just happened to be making this recipe two days before Thanksgiving, and will use the "Turkey Brine" recipe here by Sheri Gailey. The brine for the turkey recipe starts out the same way as the enchilada recipe, so after I removed the liquid I needed for the enchilada's, I added sea salt to the remaining broth to use for the turkey. Double bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These are really good. I know they would have been even better if I had four peppers. I only had one. I also used Monterey Jack cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We made this twice so we must like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Rave reviews every time we make this for guests. Our version uses a rotisserie chicken and chicken stock to save time. We also use flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I really thought these were great, but the rest of the family thought they were too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I love poblanos, so I knew these would rock. The only change I made was not dipping the tortillas. I always steam tortillas in the microwave and that makes them perfectly pliable without having to do all that dipping. These were great and we will definitely add them to our regular enchilada rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States