Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I really liked these enchiladas and the heat was just right for me. However, my husband felt they were a little bland (he likes more than just heat). Because of the prep work and his less than stellar review I cannot give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These were pretty tasty. I have never worked with fresh poblano peppers before and it was quite a process. I had to use my broiler, and being paranoid about them being too charred, I sat right in front of the oven for about 15 minutes turning them. My hand and arm got pretty hot before I thought to grab an oven mitt. LOL We also used flour tortillas instead of the corn as we don't like corn tortilla and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Great A+++ recipe!!! However to satisfy all ages, I decided to use 4 TOMATILLOS & 1 sliced up pepper for spice with a little cilantro instead of the poblano chiles- it was delicious!! I also did not fry the tortillas, however you risk breaking the shell when you roll them up. So maybe I'll try frying them next time. Absolutely authentic, and delicious- 5 stars all the way! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made 8 enchiladas and between myself and 2 teenage boys they were gone in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Made this tonight, it was good but I changed it a little after reading the others' suggestions. I browned the chicken breasts before adding the water and threw in some salt, pepper and a little cumin. I skipped the tortilla-frying step as well, just warmed them in the microwave. When the sauce was simmering I added more salt; not enough though, the tortillas soak it up so next time I will keep this in mind. Like some others, I also put these in a baking dish and threw them in the oven for about 15 minutes (@350) to melt the cheese. The enchiladas had a good flavor but hardly any heat (spiciness), so next time I will probably throw in a jalepeno. This would be a great potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
We used fat free sour cream and microwaved the tortillas first to soften instead of frying (we are on diets) and added some cumin. i thought this was awesome, but I would definetly make the sauce a day ahead. When we ate it the next day it was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Our family loves great mexican food and have made some fantastic recipes for many years but this just didn't do it for us. It was lots of work for a just okay taste. My husband lived in southern California for several years and really loves Mexican food and asked me NOT to make this recipe again. My daughter and I agreed that the taste didn't merit a second time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I tried this recipe on a whim, and I'm so glad that I did! It's delicious. I put my own little spin on it, though- instead of boneless chicken breasts, I used split breasts on the bone. I browned the chicken before I added the water, onions, ect. I then deboned and shredded the chicken. I fried flour tortillas, stuffed them, covered with the remaining sauce, covered with cheese, then baked for 25 minutes. What a great meal. Another recipe to add to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Another keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was OUTSTANDING! I don't know how the previous reviewer thought these could be bland. I like VERY spicy and the 4 poblano's give it just the right kick! I've tried numerous enchilada recipes from this site and this is hands down the best! I also follow a previous reviewer's suggestion and once I roll my enchiladas, I pour the remaining sauce over the top, top with cheese and bake for 25 minutes. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States