Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is one of the best enchilada recipes I've ever tried. Better than most restaurants! I add a roasted jalapeno for extra heat and reduce the chicken broth to 1/2 cup to make the sauce a bit thicker. I don't fry my corn tortillas to save on fat and throw it in the oven at 350 to get the cheese bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! it was so good, my boyfriend said it was like having enchiladas at a restaurant. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Superb!! Finally an authentic dish! I used flour tortillas and omitted the oil. Also cut back to 2 chiles which was perfect for our taste. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried to do a "healthy" shortcut by not pre-frying the tortillas and they fell apart and were a little soggy as a result. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly- the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These where amazing! Worth the extra work and time! Try them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needhams4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
DELICIOSO! I added a can of green chiles and some Mexican chile powder for heat. I also made a red sauce to go on top (tomato sauce + various spices). I will DEFINITELY be making these enchiladas again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Extremely good and probably the best chicken enchiladas I have ever had and that says a lot for someone living in Texas. It is a bit intensive but well worth the effort. I added some avocados and pureed it with the sauce. I found it complimented the poblano flavor very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Awesome! I love enchiladas and this recipe definitely did not disappoint. I double the batch and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A fantastic recipe!!!! My brother had given me some poblano peppers so I needed a recipe to use them in, since I'd never cooked with them before. I tried this one and it is fabulous!! In fact, my husband asked for seconds! Thank you so much for sharing a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I thought this was good and so did my husband. I only gave it 4 because I still prefer authentic enchiladas but this was a nice change. I will probably make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States