Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My family loved this and requested it again less than a week later! I was a little concerned when I tasted the sauce that it would be too spicy, but once it was cooked on the enchiladas it was just right! Even my heat-avoiding daughter had seconds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, an awesome sauce! The sour cream works so well! One thing helpful for me is to cook a big batch of the chicken ahead of time, use some right away and freeze portions for later. Having the chicken prepared ahead makes this recipe quick without compromising flavor, I just heat it up with a tad bit of broth. Roasting the peppers is fairly quick and easy, I put mine under the broiler, turning a few times. I find this recipe simple. Some of the best recipes are! I have also played with different peppers with great result. This is an awesome recipe with lots of possibilities! I'm thinking chilaquiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paisley, Oregon, USA
Living In: Summer Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I TRIED THIS RECIPE ON MY FIANCEE IT WAS REALLY GOOD AND HE LIKED IT AS WELL AND HE IS HARD TO PLEASE WITH HIS MOM BEING SALVADORIAN AND HIS FATHER MEXICAN. I HAVE EVEN TAKEN THIS RECIPE AND MAKE IT AS A TACO FILLING RECIPE WITH HOMEMADE CORN TORTILLAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great recipe! Added half a cup of chopped cilantro and half a teaspoon of salt to the poblano mixture in the blender, as it seemed a little bland without it, and used pepper jack cheese rather than mozzarella. Served with refried black beans and chips. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Eiman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is one of the best enchilada recipes I've ever tried. Better than most restaurants! I add a roasted jalapeno for extra heat and reduce the chicken broth to 1/2 cup to make the sauce a bit thicker. I don't fry my corn tortillas to save on fat and throw it in the oven at 350 to get the cheese bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! it was so good, my boyfriend said it was like having enchiladas at a restaurant. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Superb!! Finally an authentic dish! I used flour tortillas and omitted the oil. Also cut back to 2 chiles which was perfect for our taste. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried to do a "healthy" shortcut by not pre-frying the tortillas and they fell apart and were a little soggy as a result. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly- the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These where amazing! Worth the extra work and time! Try them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needhams4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States