Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Full flavor--especially great for poaching chicken. Added sprinkles of cumin, paprika, parsley, oregano, black pepper, squeeze of lemon/lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was delicious! I couldn't find poblano chilis, so I used jalapenos -- gave the dish quite a kick! I also popped this in the oven for about 5 minutes after they were rolled to let the cheese melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
these were really good! loved the flavor of the sauce. i usually make enchiladas verdes, with tomatillos. where i'm at, tomatillos arent cheap! this was definitely AS good as that recipe, for much less money and effort. i did a couple things different. i didnt use chicken, i used shrimp. so i didnt need to cook the chicken in the onion, garlic, broth mixture. i just put a cup of broth with some garlic and onion in my blender at the same time as the sour cream and peppers. used flour tortillas, and didnt fry them in oil, just warmed them up in the micro. i mixed up a little corn/blackbean salsa to go on the insides. 2 chopped plum tomatoes 3/4 can of sweet corn 1/2 can black beans 1/2 chopped small red onion 1 teaspoon lime juice salt and pepper mix all ingredients. put this, cheddar cheese, and sauce on the insides of the enchiladas with the shrimp, topped them with more sauce and cheese, baked for 30 min. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
While I did not follow recipe exactly, it got me on the right path, and the end result was excellent! My husband loved them, and my kids too. I purchased shredded chicken from HEB (fully cooked) which made that process easier! I also used a caldo de pollo boullion cube, in 2c of H2O w/ minced garlic, did the poblanos exactly like recipe, mixed w/ 1c of broth. Definitely softened tortillas (corn) in oil (best part)! Then I scooped in chicken and mexican style shredded cheese and poured sauce over topped w/ more chicken and cheese, placed in oven for 30min at 350. Next time though, I will make sauce a bit thinner consistency. Born and raised in SA, TX, and now living in RGV, TX; I have to say that these are awesome. I have never liked chicken enchiladas at restaurants. My fav is cheese enchiladas. As sides, I made some arroz and frijoles....great meal! Gracias Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i followed this recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised. the poblano sauce is not spicy but flavorful. if there was something i would change i would make a little more of it. i (unlike several reviewers) fried the tortillas and they were my favorite part so i would recommend it! And I stuck the pan in the oven for about 10 min to melt the cheese. Truthfully I didn't love it (it wasn't bad, just not amazing) but my husband did so I went ahead and gave it 5stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I finally made these enchiladas! I saved them to my recipe box back in 2006 and was always afraid to make them because the recipe seemed complicated. I am sure glad I tried it. These taste really excellent. I boiled the chicken and instead of cutting it into strips as suggested in the recipe, I shredded it. Also, after reading some reviews, I was tempted to skip frying the tortillas. I went with my instinct and followed the recipe on that one. I carefully fried each tortilla in the olive oil for just a bit. If you fry them too long they will get too crunchy. Everything else I did by the recipe and these were super delicious. Oh, I had a bit of jack cheese I wanted to use, so I shredded it and had enough to put some jack in with the shredded chicken for five of the ten enchiladas! Thanks, Olga! These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was very good although I tweaked it a little. I boiled the chicken with the ingredients (also threw in a whole serrano chile, gives wonderful flavor without the heat). Then shredded the chicken and simmered it with half the sauce for about 30 minutes. Also used Jack cheese in place of mozzarella. Homemade rice and beans and it was a really nice mexican dinner, the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I browned the chicken, sauted the onion and garlic, used flour tortillas instead of corn. Oh yeah, monterey jack cheese instead of mozzarella. Heated it in oven 359 degees for 20 minutes. Tasted good--really liked the sauce. Flour tortilla got a little mushey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Fantastic! I've made these by the recipe, and I've also added spinach and mushrooms. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The taste of these enchiladas was great. The poblanos gives it a nice peppery flavor. I skipped the tortilla frying stage and that gave me hard time when I started rolling the tortillas, they were breaking apart. But I kept going and covered the whole thing with sauce and cheese and put in the oven like other reviewers had suggested. I will make this again following the recipe the the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States