Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very nice recipe. I give it four stars because I didn't think the flavor was popping out. I fire roasted my pabalno's over the gas flame on my stove top, put them in a paper bag for a few minutes and peeled the skin off with paper towels, removed the seeds for wonderful tasting pablanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This a close recipe to my own but kind of bland, no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love enchiladas, and I had 4 Poblanos from my CSA so I was really looking forward to trying this. Meh. Disappointingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow, what great flavor these had but had to tweak to get it not so spicey. For the sauce I used 4 pablanos and 8oz of free-fat sour cream, and the 1 cup of chicken stock. To that, in the blender, I added 1/2 can fat-reduced cream of chicken soup, 1 can of drained sweet corn and 1/2 can of tomato sauce. This made it so that it was mild enough to serve to my very picky husband. I put a non-stick skillet on HI and sprayed each corn tortilla with Pam so that they were tough enough to roll with the chicken. I also put a bit of cheese inside each enchilada. Placed in a 9x13 casserole and poured a little more sauce over and covered in cheese. Baked at 350 for 15 minutes. I served it with Mexican Rice II from this site. Made a delicious meal. I put all my tweaks so if the 4 pablanos are too hot for you just follow the recommends I put in this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very Good! My family likes very spicy food so I tossed in a couple of super hot home grown chiles that are similar to chile de arbol or japanese chile peppers. Serranos would work well also. I topped them with the melted cheese, chopped onion and slices of avocados. I will surely make this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Full flavor--especially great for poaching chicken. Added sprinkles of cumin, paprika, parsley, oregano, black pepper, squeeze of lemon/lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was delicious! I couldn't find poblano chilis, so I used jalapenos -- gave the dish quite a kick! I also popped this in the oven for about 5 minutes after they were rolled to let the cheese melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
these were really good! loved the flavor of the sauce. i usually make enchiladas verdes, with tomatillos. where i'm at, tomatillos arent cheap! this was definitely AS good as that recipe, for much less money and effort. i did a couple things different. i didnt use chicken, i used shrimp. so i didnt need to cook the chicken in the onion, garlic, broth mixture. i just put a cup of broth with some garlic and onion in my blender at the same time as the sour cream and peppers. used flour tortillas, and didnt fry them in oil, just warmed them up in the micro. i mixed up a little corn/blackbean salsa to go on the insides. 2 chopped plum tomatoes 3/4 can of sweet corn 1/2 can black beans 1/2 chopped small red onion 1 teaspoon lime juice salt and pepper mix all ingredients. put this, cheddar cheese, and sauce on the insides of the enchiladas with the shrimp, topped them with more sauce and cheese, baked for 30 min. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
While I did not follow recipe exactly, it got me on the right path, and the end result was excellent! My husband loved them, and my kids too. I purchased shredded chicken from HEB (fully cooked) which made that process easier! I also used a caldo de pollo boullion cube, in 2c of H2O w/ minced garlic, did the poblanos exactly like recipe, mixed w/ 1c of broth. Definitely softened tortillas (corn) in oil (best part)! Then I scooped in chicken and mexican style shredded cheese and poured sauce over topped w/ more chicken and cheese, placed in oven for 30min at 350. Next time though, I will make sauce a bit thinner consistency. Born and raised in SA, TX, and now living in RGV, TX; I have to say that these are awesome. I have never liked chicken enchiladas at restaurants. My fav is cheese enchiladas. As sides, I made some arroz and frijoles....great meal! Gracias Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i followed this recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised. the poblano sauce is not spicy but flavorful. if there was something i would change i would make a little more of it. i (unlike several reviewers) fried the tortillas and they were my favorite part so i would recommend it! And I stuck the pan in the oven for about 10 min to melt the cheese. Truthfully I didn't love it (it wasn't bad, just not amazing) but my husband did so I went ahead and gave it 5stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States