Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was very good although I tweaked it a little. I boiled the chicken with the ingredients (also threw in a whole serrano chile, gives wonderful flavor without the heat). Then shredded the chicken and simmered it with half the sauce for about 30 minutes. Also used Jack cheese in place of mozzarella. Homemade rice and beans and it was a really nice mexican dinner, the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I browned the chicken, sauted the onion and garlic, used flour tortillas instead of corn. Oh yeah, monterey jack cheese instead of mozzarella. Heated it in oven 359 degees for 20 minutes. Tasted good--really liked the sauce. Flour tortilla got a little mushey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Fantastic! I've made these by the recipe, and I've also added spinach and mushrooms. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The taste of these enchiladas was great. The poblanos gives it a nice peppery flavor. I skipped the tortilla frying stage and that gave me hard time when I started rolling the tortillas, they were breaking apart. But I kept going and covered the whole thing with sauce and cheese and put in the oven like other reviewers had suggested. I will make this again following the recipe the the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
this was very bland to my entire family. it has potential, but would need a good bit of tweaking to become 5 star. I will not be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were ok; the poblano sauce tasted bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Used flour tortillas instead and baked in the oven for 30 minutes! Doesn't really matter what you do - its all in the sauce which is rich, buttery and FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Perhaps my expectations were too high for this recipe after reading the reviews! The chicken didn't have enough flavor so it made the whole enchilada kinda bland with the exception of the sourcream sauce - very yummy. Overall though I'd say they were OK. Must admit this was the first time I have actually cooked enchiladas so maybe I am to blame instead of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole1213
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Really good! I didn'y fry the tortillas but next time I will because they were getting too soft and falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I did not have pablano chilies so I used a can of green chilies, and this was still amazing! I did use a bit more cheese than called for and melted it in the oven for 5 minutes, but other than that I did not change a thing. I can't wait to try this with the pablanos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States