Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I have made these twice now and they are absolutely fantastic! There are a lot of steps and it takes much longer to make than listed, but totally worth it! We travel to Mexico often and eat Mexican food a minimum of three times per week. I used the chicken breast of a Costco rotisserie chicken to cut time. They are tender and juicy. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of the bullion, chopped up the chicken first and simmered for 10 minutes for the flavor. I don't think the sauce needs to be simmered for 10 minutes after blending it because I put them in the oven for 25 minutes to heat through and melt the cheese like you would with most other enchiladas anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Excellent recipe! Very smooth and tasty. I added a few things, like tomatillo and cilantro to the sauce before blenderizing it. I included some of the onion and garlic along with the broth. Also, I rolled and topped the enchiladas (used flour tortillas, since I had on hand) with sauce and cheese and baked in the oven for 25-30 minutes. Super yummy, and I am definitely saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I have made this twice now in 2 weeks and I absolutely love this. I just buy a chicken from Costco and saute the onion with garlic add to chicken. So easy and the sauce is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Fantastic enchiladas!!!! My grocery store didn't have poblano chiles, so I used green bell peppers which turned out to be a nice alternative. Sprinkled some toasted pine nuts on the top to add a bit of crunch. Amazing reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Let me preface with saying that I am not a cook by any means and yes, I am a gringa. My husband is very much a Mexican and has enjoyed home cooked meals his entire life. All of our marriage I have lived in his mother's cooking shadow. Tonight I made this and his reaction made my night/week/year: "add this to the favorites list; I like these way better than my mothers" SCORE!! Thank you thank you for such a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
What do you do with leftover turkey? Make this, Obviously; ) I grabbed the bag of tortilla chips and layered the whole shabang. Cream cheese, hatch chilies, gr.onion & cilantro went in the blender. Salt n pepper and Lots of cheese brought this to an Excellent result! Love these !! Thank you Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I love this recipe, and I refer back to it EVERY time I make enchiladas. If you cant find Poblano chillies, you can substitute red bell peppers in for a great alternative too- Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I replaced one of the poblano peppers with a habenaro to give it a lot more kick. Also instead of throwing away the liquid, I ate it as a soup. It tasted like a delicious French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by errrica
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner. Delicious!! Not too spicy, good flavor. I substituted the sour cream with plain Greek yogurt and instead of frying the tortillas I rolled the enchiladas and baked in over for 15 minutes and broiled until cheese toasted. Served with rice and beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
made this 3xs, twice with chicken, once with pork. Everyone loved it. My changes: 1. roasted the meat (season the meat before roasting) instead if boiling. 2. Instead of chicken broth, I used the broth from the bottom of pan (from roasting) 3. For a more depth of flavor, I Sautéed 1 onion, small handful of corn, 3 cloves garlic, and 2 tomatoes w salt pepper and pinch of cumin. 4. When assembly: dip the tortilla (yes I fried mine) into the poblano sauce, sprinkle Mexican blend cheese, add some meat, add small spoon of the sautéed veggies. Fold and place in a greased baking dish. Thank put more cheese on top and bake till bubbly and almost golden brown. I serve with fresh cilantro and lime wedge. Hubby said he would pay $14 for a plate of this at a restaurant. So yummy! Yes it takes a lot of time but sooo worth it. Also side note: depending where your poblanos a are from, sometimes they are hotter than normal. Make sure you taste your poblano sauce - if the heat is not hot enough dice jalepenos and ad to the sauce. (I had to do that once)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States