Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by errrica
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner. Delicious!! Not too spicy, good flavor. I substituted the sour cream with plain Greek yogurt and instead of frying the tortillas I rolled the enchiladas and baked in over for 15 minutes and broiled until cheese toasted. Served with rice and beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
made this 3xs, twice with chicken, once with pork. Everyone loved it. My changes: 1. roasted the meat (season the meat before roasting) instead if boiling. 2. Instead of chicken broth, I used the broth from the bottom of pan (from roasting) 3. For a more depth of flavor, I Sautéed 1 onion, small handful of corn, 3 cloves garlic, and 2 tomatoes w salt pepper and pinch of cumin. 4. When assembly: dip the tortilla (yes I fried mine) into the poblano sauce, sprinkle Mexican blend cheese, add some meat, add small spoon of the sautéed veggies. Fold and place in a greased baking dish. Thank put more cheese on top and bake till bubbly and almost golden brown. I serve with fresh cilantro and lime wedge. Hubby said he would pay $14 for a plate of this at a restaurant. So yummy! Yes it takes a lot of time but sooo worth it. Also side note: depending where your poblanos a are from, sometimes they are hotter than normal. Make sure you taste your poblano sauce - if the heat is not hot enough dice jalepenos and ad to the sauce. (I had to do that once)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was good but seemed to be missing something. The sauce is really good (needs more salt) but thought it needed somthing else. I might make again and play around with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A little too bland for me. Was hoping the sauce would be good but it needs a lot of help :/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I think the ingredients are wonderful and the set up and instructions are perfect, until... There is no mention of the oven temperature or time of baking included in this recipe. It just stops with the sprinkling of cheese on top. So, in essence, this recipe is useless to me. Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely a keeper whole family really loved this dish. Thought the pepper roasting would be tough but super easy . Only change was I added about 3/4 cup jack cheese soooo yummy and much more tasty than recipes with chicken soup or other prepared enchilada sauces . I cooked this at 375 for 20 minutes came out perfect just wish I would have taken a picture for u was pretty too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Totally awesome! I shredded the chicken & served the extra sauce over the enchiladas. It will be a standard for our house from now on. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very, very delicious! The simple flavors make this dish very tasty and so flavorful. If u love the taste of chile poblanos, then this recipe is truly for you taste buds! The dish had a bit of a kick but so worth while to cook it. Thank you for sharing another way of preparing green enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Maybe I did something wrong but these turned out very dry & bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
super delicious! Make just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States