Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Fantastic enchiladas!!!! My grocery store didn't have poblano chiles, so I used green bell peppers which turned out to be a nice alternative. Sprinkled some toasted pine nuts on the top to add a bit of crunch. Amazing reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Let me preface with saying that I am not a cook by any means and yes, I am a gringa. My husband is very much a Mexican and has enjoyed home cooked meals his entire life. All of our marriage I have lived in his mother's cooking shadow. Tonight I made this and his reaction made my night/week/year: "add this to the favorites list; I like these way better than my mothers" SCORE!! Thank you thank you for such a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
What do you do with leftover turkey? Make this, Obviously; ) I grabbed the bag of tortilla chips and layered the whole shabang. Cream cheese, hatch chilies, gr.onion & cilantro went in the blender. Salt n pepper and Lots of cheese brought this to an Excellent result! Love these !! Thank you Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I love this recipe, and I refer back to it EVERY time I make enchiladas. If you cant find Poblano chillies, you can substitute red bell peppers in for a great alternative too- Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I replaced one of the poblano peppers with a habenaro to give it a lot more kick. Also instead of throwing away the liquid, I ate it as a soup. It tasted like a delicious French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by errrica
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner. Delicious!! Not too spicy, good flavor. I substituted the sour cream with plain Greek yogurt and instead of frying the tortillas I rolled the enchiladas and baked in over for 15 minutes and broiled until cheese toasted. Served with rice and beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
made this 3xs, twice with chicken, once with pork. Everyone loved it. My changes: 1. roasted the meat (season the meat before roasting) instead if boiling. 2. Instead of chicken broth, I used the broth from the bottom of pan (from roasting) 3. For a more depth of flavor, I Sautéed 1 onion, small handful of corn, 3 cloves garlic, and 2 tomatoes w salt pepper and pinch of cumin. 4. When assembly: dip the tortilla (yes I fried mine) into the poblano sauce, sprinkle Mexican blend cheese, add some meat, add small spoon of the sautéed veggies. Fold and place in a greased baking dish. Thank put more cheese on top and bake till bubbly and almost golden brown. I serve with fresh cilantro and lime wedge. Hubby said he would pay $14 for a plate of this at a restaurant. So yummy! Yes it takes a lot of time but sooo worth it. Also side note: depending where your poblanos a are from, sometimes they are hotter than normal. Make sure you taste your poblano sauce - if the heat is not hot enough dice jalepenos and ad to the sauce. (I had to do that once)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was good but seemed to be missing something. The sauce is really good (needs more salt) but thought it needed somthing else. I might make again and play around with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A little too bland for me. Was hoping the sauce would be good but it needs a lot of help :/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I think the ingredients are wonderful and the set up and instructions are perfect, until... There is no mention of the oven temperature or time of baking included in this recipe. It just stops with the sprinkling of cheese on top. So, in essence, this recipe is useless to me. Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States