Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We love this recipe and didn't change a thing. Confused by other reviews that added additional spices, and complained about lack of salt (um, easy enough to add if you're a saltaholic). The best part about this recipe is all the fresh ingredients. For those thinking it's lacking in flavor, make sure you use fresh juicy limes. It's the lime flavor that makes this recipe over the top. Additional spices would kill the fresh lime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
the sauce could use some salt for seasoning. Worth trying again but next time I think ill use a Mexican blend or smoked mozzarella cheese would be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I shredded the chicken instead of cubing it. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Stark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I'm giving it 3 stars as written. I could tell by just reading the recipe that I was going to need to tweak it. Of course, that's what I always do. First of all, I grilled the chicken seasoned with fajita seasoning and salt. A little canola oil and the lime juice. The sauce is pretty much a blank slate and you can infuse it with any flavors you want to suit your palette. I liked the cilantro and lime aspect of it, but it definitely needed more. Definitely salt (omitted from the original recipe maybe? But needed.). I also went with some cumin and fresh cracked black pepper. No mushrooms for me, but I did saute some onions and used chopped green chiles and tomatillo salsa instead of the fresh peppers. I also used shredded colby jack instead of mozzerella. Turned it into a 4 1/2 star dish, according to my family and me. But hey, unless you are baking, recipes are just guidelines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rauch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
It took almost 2 hours to prepare everything, and had very little flavor except cilantro. One bunch isn't a very good measure. Also the pablano skin should have been removed first, it ends up looking awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My husband loves Cilantro and loves mushrooms. He said these were the best enchiladas he's ever had. He's from deep south Texas where authentic enchiladas can be found on every restaurant menu. But he said he won't touch theirs anymore as long as I make these weekly! Very good if you don't mind mushrooms. I removed them before I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used leftover shredded chicken and added the peppers,etc. to the chicken. Also used cheddar cheese for the cheese. My family ate seconds of this and it was very easy to put together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yum! Only made one change - substituted a can of green chillis for the jalapenos, as my boyfriend is a bit of a wuss when it comes to spice. We also used low fat sour cream as a small attempt to cut the fat. Overall delicious, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was so good. I added a red can of tomato sauce with jalapenos to the sauce. I did not use Mozzarella, but a mixture of Colby jack and pepper jack cheese. I roasted the peppers and only used two whole jalapenos, scraped the cooked peppers into the sauce too. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Made this the other night, it was ok, my husband liked it but I agree with alot of the other reviews the cream sauce was a little bland, had to pour some cholula on it for some flavor. I will probably make it again but alter the cream sauce, and maybe use some green verde sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States