Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Our family loved this recipe - but I did make a few changes to it, to use what we had in the fridge and pantry to avoid an extra trip to the store! I used red/yellow bell peppers rather than poblanos and jalepenos, omitted the mushrooms (no one at our house likes them), used sharp cheddar rather than mozzerella, and used 3-4 ounces of sour cream instead of 2 ounces (light, rather than regular). I was surprised and delighted with the ease of putting this together, and the fact that my "modified Alfredo" sauce came out absolutely perfect, as I often have trouble with those. I would recommend using perhaps 18-24 corn tortillas, as mine seemed to disappear in the recipe, but it was delicious nonetheless. I also loved the fact that it was a time saver to make this casserole-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I thought this is a good recipe, even good enough for company. The only additions I made were garlic to the onion mixture and salt to the creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This casserole is a real winner. It has incredible flavor and texture and contains only fresh ingredients. Since I didn't have mushrooms on hand, I put in one small chopped onion instead. I added a little chicken broth to the cream mixture and salt to taste. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Scrumptious! My family was scraping the bottom of the dish to get the very last bite. I did cut back on the jalepeno's though because not everyone in my family likes their food that spicy. I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I seasoned the chicken ahead of time in a zip lock bag, using garlic power, onion powder, Mexican seasoning, oregano, salt and pepper. I let it marinade for about two hours. I used 1 jalapeno and my store only had large green chilies of which I used two. I followed the recipe and then added a can of fire roasted green chilies to the mix. For the sauce, I sautéed ¼ of an onion in the butter, omitted the sour cream, added cumin, cilantro, lime and 1 can of store bought green enchilada sauce (OMG! I could have licked the saucepan). I shredded the chicken as opposed to chopping. I grated some cheddar and added it along with mozzarella. I spread sauce over the first layer of tortillas before adding the chicken mixture and cheese and alternated that method until I ran out of chicken. I think this is an outstanding recipe even if I haven't even taken it out of the oven yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is restaurant quality!! The only changes I made: omitted the mushrooms and added fajita seasoning to the chicken. I forgot to add the lime juice to the sauce but it still turned out great! I will add it in next time. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was pretty good, I added fajita seasoning to the chicken while cooking to give it more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe, including my Grandpa-in-law who doesn't like anything new! I've made this many times for company and friends and have always gotten requests for the recipe. I do put in more poblanos (4-6), doubled the sauce, used 1/2 bunch cilantro, skipped the mushrooms since I don't like them, and added salt. I have made this with both flour and corn tortillas and prefer the corn with this recipe. Hope this helps. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
It was yummy. I read the reviews before I cooked it so I took some advice from some of the other ladies. I doubled the sauce and my family loves spicy so i seeded only the poblano peppers, leaving the seeds in the other peppers. It was good. I really liked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe was good, but could of used a little more seasoning. To me it tasted a little better the next day. When you make this don't forget to add salt even though it dosen't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States