Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe is ok. Not one of my favorites, but not nasty by any means. In my opinion it's more work than it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great recipe if you add a few things. I cut up then cooked the chicken with peppers, onions and fresh corn, added salt cumin and pepper. The recipe calls for way too much chicken and I only used two large chicken breasts. I then topped it off with a mix of jack cheese and mozarella and the cream sauce. I left out the mushrrooms since the hubby doesn't like them. The family loved it! Will deffinitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I had high hopes for this one. I tried to improve it by seasoning and shredding the chicken, roasting the poblanos, and increasing the cilantro sauce by half, but the result was barely edible. Soggy tortillas, WAY too much chicken (so much so that the peppers were completely lost), still not enough sauce, no flavouring or texture that even suggested the thought of enchiladas, and overall a wholly disappointing meal. I wasted a long time in the kitchen and a lot of good ingredients on this. My boyfriend commented that it tasted like something you would make out of leftovers. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a great recipe!! We loved this. The only things I did differently was use less jalapeno (because my husband isn't supposed to have spicy food) and I forgot to buy mushrooms, so we had to go without. So, I added a little bit of chipotle powder and a little bit of ancho chili powder to the cream sauce because otherwise it would be so plain. I did add extra salt and pepper to the chicken/chili mixture. This was so yummy. I think it is pretty adaptable with adding extra veggies if need be as well. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is a good combination of ingredients, but only rates three stars as written. To improve the dish, I suggest you: Roast and peel the poblano peppers. Add cumin and coriander to the chicken, plus salt. Replace the mozzarella cheese with monterrey jack and/or a blend of true mexican cheeses. Slice the chicken into strips before cooking or shred after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did a vegan version of this and I promise you will not miss the chicken. It was very flavorful and certainly much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
A few additions: season your chicken(both sides) (cumin, chili spice, garlic, onion powder)...add some of your favorite onion (red works well), use three-four poblanos, mexican blend cheese with some mozzarella (not necesarily four cups, use your best judgement) . You can forgo the ... mushrooms. Next time, I'll try this with Rotel instead of mushrooms, and add in some green chilis. My husband and 7 yr. old boy loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Having read another review I made a few additions, . , they said that they thought it was bland, I added 4-5 garlic, cumin, additional salt, 3 more Poblanos, and Chipotle cheese. I also used milk instead of half and half. it was one of the best that my husband and have eaten. Will be making this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I loved it. However I did make a couple revisions: First, I added taco seasoning to the chicken while it was cooking in the pan. In making the cream sauce instead of using butter, because I had so much juice in the pan from the chicken, I used about a half cup of it. Because my grocery store did not have poblano peppers, I used 1 green pepper. I added it to the chicken 5 min before it was done. I added salt and extra garlic to the chicken. When I layed the casserole I dumped in the rest of the sauce from the chicken which had all the taco seasoning and garlic and jalapeno bits. This recipie is excellent, it just needs extra seasoning for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENAKEMI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Missing flavor. Not that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States