Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Great starter recipe. You'll want to tweek it for your family or guests. I defatted the roux by skipping the sour cream and didn't use mozzarella (no taste) and added monterey jack. could use cheddar too. I also threw in 1-2 tsp.ground cumin and chili powder into the meat while it was cooking. My family loved this recipe though and I will definitely make it again. Thanks-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETITE BAKER

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This was not bad, but the sauce was too 'gravy' tasting to me. I will try again with some adjustments and instead of the sauce I will use the White Cheese Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This was OK. I wasn't to impressed with it. I would add an onion and maybe a few more things to boost the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I've learned a couple of things, while making this recipe, that I'll do differently next time. First, I'll roast and peel the Poblanos before slicing them. Second, I'll shred the chicken as I'd like a more authentic texture. It's very rare that I prepare a recipe as written, and I did feel it was lacking a certain flavor, maybe I'll discover it next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Our whole family loved this one! Even my picky, picky kids cleaned their plates!!! We added 1/2 the cliantro and peeled the poblano's skin too. I only had 1/2 of the mozzarella so we added Monterey Jack for the rest of the cheese. Very Yummy......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Totally disapointing. With all those peppers I was expecting more of a punch with the chicken, but it was quite bland. The sauce was not that flavorful either. I am not a star chef so I am not sure what it needs, but it sure needs a pick me up. Mu husband said it wasn't that bad, but then proceeded to cover his plate in Tapatio. We will finish the leftovers, but I'll probably never see this one on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
GREAT recipe!! I shredded the chicken, rather than cubing it, to make it more authentic. Otherwise, followed same recipe. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This was pretty good. I used half the cilantro and the flavor was good... if I had used it all I think it would have been too overpowering. I also added onions to the mix - but onions go into everything I cook. My husband liked it also, so we will probably be making it again. I will probably add some more half and half to the sauce - it was really thick - but still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States