Poached Salmon with Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I was getting tired of the quick Hollandaise sauce I've been making. If there is one thing I have learned about cooking it's that taking the time to do things the right way is almost certainly the best way. Sauces in particular can be tricky. In addition to taste, consistency is very key. I'm giving this 5* rating to the Hollandaise sauce in this recipe. Yes---there is a ton of butter - there is supposed to be. Rich is expected in this classic French sauce. It is what it is. So please don't rate it if you are at all anti-butter and en route to the food police. Following the instructions exactly will produce a sauce near perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Interesting! I've never had hollandaise before, let alone made it from scratch, but this was pretty darn tasty. I -do- suggest unsalted butter. I started off with 1/2 cup of salted and it was heading down the path to 'too salty'. I finished it with unsalted and had success! I didn't need to season with additional salt at the end, but I did add some pepper. Really watch your egg yolks and don't stop whisking! I scrambled my first attempt trying to speed it up. THANK YOU for the wonderful, comprehensive instructions that even a hollandaise virgin could follow (if she weren't rushing!). The salmon was also poached to perfection, and I love the flavors the lemon juice and olive oil imparted. Lovely. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe, Luna! I followed it to the letter, resulting in perfectly moist and tender fish and deliciously creamy hollandaise sauce with a hint of lemon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Sooo good, and I don't even like salmon. Had some and needed to use it up though, and I love Hollandaise. I used unsalted butter and then salted to taste. I used realemon concentrate, where 1 tsp = 1 tbsp lemon juice. I thought it was fantastic. The Hollandaise was perfect, and poaching while making the sauce made it soooo easy. Served over long grain rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, have made it several times now, bought a steamer pot for the fish since we usually make this for company and therefore buy a long piece of the salmon and my cooktop has a bridge for the type of pot. The Salmon turns out wonderfully moist (as long as it is not overcooked, which I did on one occasion, my fault, not the recipe's) and the hollandaise sauce is really easy to make with a good double boiler ...creamy as it can be, even though I have to admit the first egg yokes I used curdled, because I had the water temp too high and too close underneath the pot (recipe reminds one to use only so much water and to take the top pot off from the water if necessary to prevent that from happening... in other words, don't walk away from it even for a moment). But what a lucious outcome...the hollandaise also goes great with asparagus, so we now always make a double batch of this sauce (it is easily reheated, using a microwave slow heat and then whisking it into shape! Eggs benedict!)Yummy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
My wife liked the fish but LOVED the hollandaise sauce. Prepared and served as written (not a big fish eater, so there was no taste testing), she found the salmon a bit under-seasoned. The hollandaise sauce made the fish better. I will poach salmon again but with use vegetable stock (used chicken previously with water), a little bit more salt, a hint of onion powder, and will use a lemon and cracked peppercorn. Poaching with straight water is stewing and water being a solvent, removes flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice B.
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was great! The fish was cooked nice and the hollandaise was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was so good! I thought it may be difficult but everything came together great for me. I served it with rice and asparagus. Thanks for a new salmon recipe for the rotation Luna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The salmon was good but the hollandaise was for . Probably didn't make it right but still sucked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was an excellent meal. I had sliced baked sweet potatoes that were spicy. Also, I added dill and capers to the recipe and that was so excellent! I had a winner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi's crazy cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States