Poached Salmon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I added some vegetable stock to the poached salmon mixture to intensify the flavour. My family enjoyed it, so I would do it again, but I would use 3 cups of water instead of 4, and dispense with the cheesecloth-just be gentle on the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
This recipe was just what I needed for a busy day with houseguests. I served rice as a side dish and after the salmon was finished cooking, I poured the juices in the pan over the rice. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This tasted wonderful but I think the cooking time should be increased a bit if you like your Salmon cooked through. A fruity Chardonay went well with this dish. It will appear on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out perfectly. Agreed that this would be perfect with a rich sauce like Hollandaise, but since I wasn't up for making it, I served this hot with the "Elegant Scalloped Potatoes" recipe on this site. The richness of the potatoes really worked with the subtle flavour of the fish. By the way, there's a video tutorial of this recipe in the "Tips and Advice" section - very useful if you've never poached before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I have tried many salmon recipies and I've found this one to be easy and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I tried this recipe for a brunch. It was superb! I didn't precook the onion, carrots or celery. Just put them in the water with the wine. It was the hit of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I replaced 2 cups water with 2 cups chicken stock for extra flavour. I also added 2 tbsp fish sauce and 1 tbsp peppercorns, which I thought "kicked it up a notch"! NOTE: This is also really good served chilled on a hot summer's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Can skip the butter- does nothing for the recipe. Poaching is a gerat way to keep salmon moist, especially if it was previously frozen or is a thin or uneven cut. Added 1/4 of a very juicy lemon squeezed and rind tossed into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
i made this for my in-laws and it was really well received. i don't have a lot of salmon dishes in my repertoire, now i have one more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Easy to do and takes fishy taste away. I served this with a white cream sauce with parsley and chopped hard boiled egg added. (My mother's receipe and she was never wrong.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States