Poached Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was okay. I wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe at all. It was an absolute waste. Not only was the timing off - I quarted and cored the pears and they still were not done in the alloted time - but it was way too perfumey and had an artificial taste to them. I'd rather sip a mimosa with dinner and have pears poached in a simple syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These are delicous. Every time I serve them I get compliments. I omitted the chocolate and just used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I served them on mascarpone cheese, drizzled them with the sauce and topped with chopped walnuts. The mascarpone balances the sweetness really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galva, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
When I tasted the cooking liquid it was so good, I decided to reduce it a bit and pour in on the pears. I didn't have chips, so I just chopped up some 70% chocolate to sprinkle on over the pears in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made these with the wine on hand (merlot), and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmalavenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very yummy and easy. I followed the suggestion of another user and added add the grand manier to the chocolate. But don't! Otherwise the chocolate will freeze up and get chunky. I had to throw it away. Instead, drizzle it over the final dessert. Also, i used wine instead of champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Yum! I improvised - used cooler instead of champagne, peach nectar instead of orange juice, and omitted the chocolate, and it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I only used the champagne, cinnamon stick, and a cup or so of diet cran-grape juice. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I made these when my parents came to dinner and my dad said they were the best pears he ever had! I added a little splash of grand marnier to the chocolate and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States