Poached Eggs and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was delicious! I quickly sauteed my asparagus. and I had no bouillon so I added a splash of chicken stock to the water (didn't really notice any difference in flavor from a regular poached egg, though). I also used pepperjack cheese. Very tasty and satisfying breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
While I use a different poaching method, this is my idea of a top-notch breakfast -- there is nothing else like oozy egg yolk combined with creamy cheese, crunchy toast and crisp tender asparagus.... heaven on a plate. When fresh asparagus is in season, I often enjoy this for lunch or dinner as well... yes, it's that sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
this was sooo much better than it sounded!! my sweety doesn't care for asparagus so he wilted spinach for under the eggs and used a plain yogurt with chives as a dressing over a toasted pumpernickel with the wilted spinach that was wilted in olive oil, volcanic sea salt from hawaii & a touch of fresh minced garlic! absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe is easy. I thought it needed something additional though so I made Hollandaise sauce to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
i only made the egg part... it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Apruzzese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious. I used sesame crackers instead of bread (watching my carbs), and a combination of chedder and shredded parmesan. Also, I cooked the eggs a little bit longer so that the egg yolk turned hard, and I could thus easily eat just the egg whites. Didn't have boullion, so I seasoned the water with salt, pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Yummy! I also made hollandaise sauce and poured it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Is is very good! The only thing I changed was to roast the asparagus with portabella mushrooms and olive oil for 15 minutes at 400•. healthy, simple, and delicious. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I would just add canadian bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ Stoker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was delicious and easy- I sautéed my asparagus in extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper for a couple minutes and spread soft havarti cheese instead of butter and it was just amazing! I've never poached an egg before, and was surprised at how easy it was- I was advised beforehand to add a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of any white vinegar to the simmering water before adding the eggs, which helps keep the whites together. It worked great, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States